Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2010, 04:54 PM
odis172's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 683

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyhorsejohnny View Post
Most people that rip Norton haven't used it in awhile. I had last year's Norton Internet 2009 and this year's too and both were/are great. No problems whatsoever. Not a resource hog like before.
/agree

Not that im saying that norton is THEBESTEVER! But 2009 and newer is definitely improved over the older software. I prefer kaspersky, but would have no problem using norton.
__________________
Laptop: Lenovo T420 - Core i5 2520 - 8GB DDR3
Server: 2 xeon E5530 - Asus Z8N-D6 - 12GB DDR3 - 8x 500GB raid 50 - Perc 6/i - Compucase RA448A00
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2010, 05:39 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by odis172 View Post
/agree

Not that im saying that norton is THEBESTEVER! But 2009 and newer is definitely improved over the older software. I prefer kaspersky, but would have no problem using norton.
I have heard good things about the newer Norton too.

+1 to Kaspersky though. 3-4 database updates daily. I don't bother to buy the complete suites though...I just want a simple virus scanner.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2010, 05:52 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digikid View Post
Well LEARN TOO.
It shows how much you know when you're recommending AVG Free (which hasn't been a decent piece of software since version 7) over MSE (which is widely considered to be one of the best A/V programs out there and is also 100% free). So cut the threadcrapping and Microsoft bashing, and don't bother posting any more unless you're going to start including some facts.

Last edited by Soultribunal; February 9, 2010 at 06:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2010, 06:19 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,628

My System Specs

Default

I'm so tired to close threads because of some childish actions as such... jeez guys. Grow the effin' up.

Oh, and Digi, I'll take you seriously once you clear that sig of yours...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2010, 12:20 AM
Evilyeti's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brandon, Manitoba
Posts: 317

My System Specs

Default

I just wanted to add that I have been running Norton Internet Security 2010 and Norton Utilities 2010 on my 2nd computer and I am on Day 3 now and it seems to be running just fine, not slowing the system down at all.

I don't think 3 days is enough to judge (Obviously) but I'll keep it running on my 2nd computer and see how things continue to go.
__________________
This is my signature! Roar
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2010, 04:03 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evilyeti View Post
I just wanted to add that I have been running Norton Internet Security 2010 and Norton Utilities 2010 on my 2nd computer and I am on Day 3 now and it seems to be running just fine, not slowing the system down at all.

I don't think 3 days is enough to judge (Obviously) but I'll keep it running on my 2nd computer and see how things continue to go.
Anybody using Microsoft's product??
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2010, 04:08 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudel View Post
Anybody using Microsoft's product??
yes me and I'm more than satisfy.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2010, 05:02 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Houston BC
Posts: 414
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudel View Post
Anybody using Microsoft's product??
Yes, I've got it running on my main machine. Seems to work well, low system overhead and free. As the NOD32 licences run out on other machines I think I'll be replacing with microsoft. Nothing wrong with NOD32 but not really worth paying for as microsft security essentials seems to work just as well.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2010, 05:26 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudel View Post
Anybody using Microsoft's product??
I'm using it on both my Windows machines and it's working great so far. It's very lightweight, unobtrusive, and it works well. Best of all, it's free.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2010, 05:38 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

I must add , the Hot Babe section here on WhC is the more at risk web site I visit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Norton Internet Security 2009 Pelt O/S's, Drivers & General Software 16 November 2, 2009 09:14 AM
Norton and reformatting clone63 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 September 19, 2009 03:04 AM
AMD to Drop Support of non-DX10 Products, Including FireGL Products. cadaveca Press Releases & Tech News 25 March 20, 2009 06:54 AM
Norton Antivirus 2009 3 of 7 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 November 17, 2008 06:10 AM
Norton 360 - Disables Itself - POS misterlarry O/S's, Drivers & General Software 16 May 9, 2008 05:29 PM