Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 22, 2010, 07:46 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Default What OS to Install on a Pentium 4 @ 1.5Ghz?

I'm currently running Windows XP and I'm thinking of formatting the computer as it's hella slow to the point where it takes over 10 minutes to just boot up. I'm thinking of giving Linux a try, but there's so many different Linux OS out there. I've heard about openSUSE from my friend but that's about it. However, there are 3 requirements that must be met if I use Linux and I've never used it or heard much about it before.

1. A BT download program that works with Linux. I asked before but lost the forum thread for it

2. Can I still share folders? I have TVB dramas that I watch on the other computers as this computer is mainly for BTing my dramas.

3. Antispyware and Antivirus program needed?

System specs are the following:

Intel Pentium 4 @ 1.5Ghz
256MB RAMBUS
80GB and 160GB hard drive
Intel motherboard
NVIDIA MX4000

Thanks!
Old January 22, 2010, 07:51 PM
Banned
F@H

you don't have a lot of memory, many distro of Linux like more memory
Old January 22, 2010, 08:40 PM
Allstar

1. A BT download program that works with Linux. I asked before but lost the forum thread for it
Yes most distros include this.

2. Can I still share folders? I have TVB dramas that I watch on the other computers as this computer is mainly for BTing my dramas.
You can with samba which is sometimes included but can be downloaded and installed for free.

3. Antispyware and Antivirus program needed? NO

Go RamBus

Would be good if you had 512MB or 1GB of ram ...

Start reading here ...
DistroWatch.com: Put the fun back into computing. Use Linux, BSD.

Here is one that would run for sure ...
DistroWatch.com: Puppy Linux
But it's not your typical distro.
Old January 22, 2010, 08:55 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs