Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 07:46 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default Windows Live Messenger Kicking Me Out Due to Signing In at Elsewhere

So it started happening a few days ago. Once in a while, I'll be on Windows Live Messenger and I'll get kicked out with a popup from WLM saying that I got signed in at another place. I promptly changed the password after I signed back in, thinking I got hacked. However I still got kicked out so I changed back to the original password. I tried unchecking "Sign me out of all other places when I sign into Messenger" and now I don't get kicked out of WLM, but it will say that I'm being signed in somewhere else.

Is there a way for me to check where I'm signed in at other than my own computer? I've seen it before but I can't seem to get that Window to open for some reason.

Also is there a way to contact Microsoft about this? I searched Google and Bing but I can't find anything.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 07:50 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

If you're running a newer version of messenger it's possible that both you and the "other" will get the same messages. However, it will tell you the "computer name" of where the other "you" is signed in.

I'd recommend changing your password to something totally whacky, like my nick, or something.

Most times I've seen this happen though if from people who give away their password to a web service with a promise it will tell them who has them blocked. They consequently use your password/account and sent spam messages out about Acai berry juice or something stupid like that. A change of the password will fix it

It is possible, however, that you're signed into WM on a portable device like your phone though, so look into that....
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2010, 08:05 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

I'm supposedly using the latest version of WLM, but it just doesn't show the computer name where the other "me" is signed in. I installed Windows 7 under a month ago, so I should have the latest version.

Changing the password... I should also change everything else that I use with this password. I have a couple passwords in use too, some safe, some weaker, etc.

Ya I've been getting a bit of spam mail lately. Like one spam e-mail every 2 or 3 days. Never got them before....
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 01:00 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
If you're running a newer version of messenger it's possible that both you and the "other" will get the same messages. However, it will tell you the "computer name" of where the other "you" is signed in.

I'd recommend changing your password to something totally whacky, like my nick, or something.

Most times I've seen this happen though if from people who give away their password to a web service with a promise it will tell them who has them blocked. They consequently use your password/account and sent spam messages out about Acai berry juice or something stupid like that. A change of the password will fix it

It is possible, however, that you're signed into WM on a portable device like your phone though, so look into that....
I agree. It sounds like your account has been compromised. Change your password and it should go away.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 05:20 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

Changed a password AGAIN to one that I don't use, still getting the same thing. Maybe my WLM is glitched... My e-mail account or anything using a similar/same password doesn't seem to have been tampered with.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 05:27 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

It's a bill gates conspiracy to get you to upgrade (not sure what he wants you to upgrade to, but that's my theory)......

I'm still siding with the "it's installed on a different pc, or tied to a different application" theory.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 05:53 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

It's happening more frequently now... I'm going to change the password one last time. If it doesn't help, I'm doing clean install of WLM.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 08:06 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Do you have WLM on your phone? My Blackberry signs in sometimes.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2010, 08:31 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

I do have WLM on my phone, but WiFi is off. My phone is a "grey-market" phone and I don't have a data plan so I didn't bother setting it up for data usage.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 23, 2010, 07:52 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

Ok clean installing WLM temporarily solved it, but the problem is coming back. I think it only happens on my PC but I'm not sure. I'm going to test it out on the laptop and see if I get kicked out because I'm signed in somewhere else.

Btw, it's not saying that I'm getting signed in on an older version of WLM, which none of my computers use except for maybe my phone. However my phone is off...
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BT Kills Windows Live Messenger geokilla Networking 25 November 14, 2009 09:15 PM
Windows Live messenger Crashing th3b00m Troubleshooting 6 August 23, 2009 01:37 AM
Windows Live Messenger Not Showing Contact Name geokilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 July 20, 2009 06:30 PM
HELP ME! games for windows live trouble! shayan288 Gaming 2 February 5, 2009 05:52 PM
how to deleted the "shared folder" create by live messenger ebdoradz Off Topic 1 January 7, 2008 11:57 AM