Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2007, 02:59 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

I have yet to have any issues with 4 Gb of RAM, and it's definitely worth considering if you're jumping to Vista x64.

I was crashing Supreme Commander constantly in skirmish mode, until I forced the OS to allow it more than 2 Gb of memory to work with. By most accounts, the game is coded reasonably well, but with limits of up to 1000 units per player, and battlefield dimensions rightfully measured in kilometers, that all had to be stored somewhere...
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2007, 07:05 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Im addicted to 4GB, I almost cry every day when I sit at work with a P4 and 1Gb mem.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2007, 06:37 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,488

My System Specs

Default

I had a new issue last night with my sound card, but after downloading a fix from Auzentech specifically aimed at problems when running 4GB, all is well. Hard to say if the OS is to blame since it seems that the hardware drivers and software is what's causing these issues with poor coding.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2007, 09:46 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
I had a new issue last night with my sound card, but after downloading a fix from Auzentech specifically aimed at problems when running 4GB, all is well. Hard to say if the OS is to blame since it seems that the hardware drivers and software is what's causing these issues with poor coding.
4GB tends to not play well with Creative's stuff. I got my Audigy 2 ZS working with 4GB, EAX, and 5.1 after quite a bit of work, there's no documentation to the process anywhere online.

The fix for getting Creative X-Fi's working with 4GB is to use the Auzentech drivers.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Big Problems Feff Troubleshooting 9 January 23, 2008 03:24 PM
Problems with overclock FritzGuy Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 December 10, 2007 06:14 PM
Problems Overclocking. Dethredic Video Cards 6 November 3, 2007 07:06 AM
More new problems! belgolas Troubleshooting 8 July 20, 2007 08:21 PM
Creative audio problems with Vista. cdn_Madrach O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 February 28, 2007 09:40 AM