Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2009, 11:57 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

I have used OEM copies for years. My XP Home disk was installed on new hardware 3-4 times a year, often a new mobo each year. My Vista OEM disk was used for 2-3 of my upgrades. I have had to call Microsoft several times, and I just tell them that I had to install a new motherboard. Never had an issue, and they don't ask questions.

As for support, there is lots of free support right here at HWC. I would not waste $10 extra for retail over OEM.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2009, 03:07 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

Same here. I purchase oem versions and never had a problem reinstalling. When hardware changes are made, simply call microsoft and they'll reactivate it for you.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
retail cd key with oem windows XP Bubbzilla Troubleshooting 1 October 19, 2009 10:16 PM
Windows 7 - Retail / OEM Availability Query rjbarker O/S's, Drivers & General Software 13 October 16, 2009 03:02 PM
[WTB] Windows Vista x64 OEM or Retail netforce Buy/Sell & Trade 0 January 17, 2009 06:32 AM
What is the difference? akbg Storage 5 October 16, 2008 05:51 PM