Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2007, 12:23 PM
Perrin49's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3
Default Motherboard swap & FC5

My MythTV box is is dying a slow death. I believe the ECS K7S5A has finally started into it's death throes.

I've ordered another mobo (ASRock K7VM3) and plan on using the same video card & capture card.

I know Windows can have issues when you do stuff like this (although there are ways around those issues), is linux as forgiving? Are there many "gotchas" that I should keep an eye out for?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2007, 03:39 PM
Deathspawner's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 204
Default

If you know Linux well, it may not be that large of a problem. I once switched motherboards and had no problems at all, except for the sound driver which was different on the new board.

One thing you may want to do is make sure you can get to a command prompt from the boot loader, instead of straight into GDM. That way, if you can't boot with the new motherboard, at least you can get to a command line and do whatever you need to do to get back up and running, aka: recompiling a new kernel.

Or, maybe FC has a repair or re-install feature that will take care of it.. I'm not sure. You may also want to post on the Phoronix forums and ask there. The site editor uses FC exclusively and has likely had to do this in the past.
__________________
Techgage.com | Editor in Chief

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.20GHz, ASUS P5K Premium WiFi-AP, OCZ 8GB PC2-6400, EVGA GTX 285 1024MB
Seagate 500GB, 750GB & 1TB, Pioneer 22x ODD, Corsair 1000HX, Thermalright Ultra-120, CM Storm Sniper
Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Ultrasone PRO 750, Gentoo Linux (KDE 4.4, 2.6.32 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter

Profiles: Last.fm | Xbox Live | Steam
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 30, 2007, 11:45 AM
Perrin49's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks.

I'll be sure to check that site out.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 30, 2007, 03:25 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,641
Default

It depends on what you have done to linux. If you have re-compiled the kernel to use your the hardware that you have then yes linux can have issues the same as windows.

If you use the default kernel that came installed with the system you SHOULD be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2007, 03:10 PM
Perrin49's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3
Default

It is the default.

The new Mobo was shipped yesterday so i should have a kick at the cat this weekend.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard and Ram fireguy RAM 15 January 13, 2008 05:32 PM
Motherboard rev?? bstring CPU's and Motherboards 2 January 12, 2008 01:55 PM
Looking for a new motherboard JD CPU's and Motherboards 1 December 30, 2007 01:14 AM
Notebook LCD Swap Stinger Display Units 0 October 6, 2007 06:14 PM
Best non-Sli motherboard? 3.0charlie CPU's and Motherboards 18 June 20, 2007 10:06 PM