Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2009, 11:14 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
Good news





that was not related to Vista


.
lol bad news so i killed the process thought maybe reinstalling the Sound max driver would help completely deleted the driver and reinstalled and the problem came back. I have therefore had to delete the driver and use windows vista hd sound driver and the problem is not there but i dont have stereo mix which sucks. And yea thumbs up to switch to windows 7. I have already bought Windows 7 but havent recieved the disc yet.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2009, 12:03 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,227

My System Specs

Default

Here's to hoping that your Windows 7 sound driver isn't buggy (or the same as) the Windows Vista version!
My laptop's (Dell Inspiron 1420) sound driver had its issues as well, eating up all of my RAM due to a memory leak. I got the driver for the same sound card on a different laptop, which happened to be a newer version without the bug.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2009, 07:20 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

found out windows 7 has the same problem but it only happens to some people which is the odd thing but most people were running either an Asus motherboard or msi.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2009, 09:09 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

That's because it's a driver issue and not a Windows issue.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2009, 02:34 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

so been testing it now for the past couple of hours every time i play a media file the handles start increasing and once i stop it it stops as well.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista 64? jellyjams RAM 5 January 6, 2009 08:43 PM
Vista help no_pulse O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 November 21, 2008 12:18 PM
Vista Home Premium 32 bit to Vista Ultimate 64 bit 334th_Frenchie O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 September 9, 2008 08:45 PM
vista 64 Tazer-[X] Gaming 9 July 29, 2008 10:52 AM
Vista Or Xp Rapid-X Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 July 24, 2007 04:40 PM