Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2009, 04:44 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default The battle begins - Win7 x64

So, I'm giving this a shot at work, this should be fun, we've got so much crappy half-assed inhouse software, and I have to use most of it on a daily basis.

Issues so far:

- no drivers for my FlashPro430 (not a show stopper, I can use my Win2K machine)
- shortcuts to network drives on the desktop keep disappearing - very annoying - this may be due to a bios issues with the Vostro's which makes them loose network connections
- I keep having to log into forums again, I'm sure this is some setting somewhere
- I could not copy key DLL's to the system32 directory, it said I needed to be an administrator to do so, but I am, I had to completely disable UAC to get by that, and of course I actually wound up having to put them in the system directory to get the software to work
- Cygwin doesn't want to run, I got it to work once, but now I just get errors - looks like something to do with memory allocation, I'm trying to get a new installer now that works with Win7, but it seems all those mirrors are craptacular. I've gotten this to run, kinda. I'm getting a error that the username and pasword isn't setup properly (on a domain) but when I try to create the group and password using mkgroup and mkpasswd, I get an error that the RPC server is not responding, I've enabled the RPC locator to no avail.
- MS's drivers for my Aardvark didn't work, fortunately it uses a bog standard interface and I was able to find drivers elsewhere, it remains to be seen as to whether it works with our software though - and it doesn't

Surprises:

- Both CE 3.0 (serial) and CE 5.0 (USB) devices will connect to WMDC

more to follow, I really don't want to go back to XP
__________________
All's well that's Haswell

Last edited by Dr_BenD_over; December 7, 2009 at 06:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2009, 06:00 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,883

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr_BenD_over View Post
more to follow, I really don't want to go back to XP
Use the XP Mode functionality if you have Professional/Ultimate and that might help out with application compatibility. Not sure about drivers though.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 11:59 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Looks like I'll be sticking with Windows 7, I can use an old Win2K machine for the stuff that doesn't work on Win7 yet. Cygwin's still not 100% sorted out, but I've figured out work arounds for what I need to use it for.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 12:05 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Other than these minor issues, how are you liking it so-far?
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2009, 12:22 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

It's pretty decent, I can't wait to get it on my gaming machine, which shouldn't have any issues, and I can finally be rid of Vista. I am missing Nview though, I'l have to see if I can get that to work.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 05:23 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

May have spoke to soon. "COM Surrogate Failed" as I right clicked and clicked personalization, then when I sought an online solution for the issue I got a RPC failure to iexplorer.exe
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 07:18 AM
Gellidius's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Quebec
Posts: 349

My System Specs

Default

about this:"-shortcuts to network drives on the desktop keep disappearing - very annoying - this may be due to a bios issues with the Vostro's which makes them loose network connections",
i had the same problem, found the solution by changing config. in ccleaner.
__________________
Jacques


Ego cogito, ergo deus non est.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 08:33 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Seems Corel X3 has some issues as well, it keeps telling me I can't make changes to a network drive when I go to save a file, but it's my local drive.
Attached Images
 
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 09:50 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

bahaha xp 4 lyfe.

sorry i know not helpful :p
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 02:00 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Holly Cow.. Doc you're really encountering issues after issues.. I swear, even though I don't do as much as you do (based on software), I seriously am still to encounter one error, or problem.. Yes some things are hard to get used to, but still, slowly but steadily..

I'm yet to experiment the XP Mode.. Also in gaming, for some reason before I formatted and installed Win 7, by XP 32 bit.. some games kept lagging in games where places have heavy graphics usage.. Imo for a 4870 to play games like Colin McRae Dirt or Nba Live 07.. Live 07 I actually installed a major update that really improves grahpics, visuals, the courts.. but sometimes it used to lag, in Win 7 now.. I hardly ever have lagging, it plays smooth..

Anyhow, hope you get your issues sorted out.. I am still a die hard XP fan, but starting to like Win 7 too..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching my Notebook to Win7 x64 Ultimate, SSD recommendations? AERo Storage 15 November 27, 2009 10:23 AM
I7 x64 or XP x64 for gaming PC? Georgian New Builds 9 November 1, 2009 11:28 AM
Starcraft 2 - Battle Report 4 Spaceman-Spiff Gaming 14 October 23, 2009 07:41 AM
Vista x64 / Win7 x64 + 4gigs ram = Which TV tuner (Shaw Digital : Vancouver) KylSp HTPC Systems & Software 7 June 18, 2009 02:13 AM
Starcraft II battle report 2 Alwaysrun Gaming 22 April 30, 2009 12:17 PM