Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 03:33 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

At this point, it sounds like your install has become corrupt or some sort of hardware is causing issues(either because of incompatibility, or faulty). Your having too many issues unrelated to software compatibility issues(RPC failing, COM failing, etc).

What kind of system was this that you put it on? I can tell that its not a usual "home" configuration by the way your talking about it. Specs?
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2009, 03:57 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilly View Post
At this point, it sounds like your install has become corrupt or some sort of hardware is causing issues(either because of incompatibility, or faulty). Your having too many issues unrelated to software compatibility issues(RPC failing, COM failing, etc).

What kind of system was this that you put it on? I can tell that its not a usual "home" configuration by the way your talking about it. Specs?
It's pretty much a bone stock Dell Vostro 420, I just slapped a 9800GT in it and a Sammy DVD±RW - and removed a whole lot of crapware. It was kinda flakey before with XP Pro (downgraded from Vista business)
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2009, 05:46 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

haha thats hilarious i was just going to come on and be like I made the move to 64 bit Windows 7 after my stupid audio driver problems only to find out others beat the punch.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2009, 05:49 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

I havent had too bad issues just finding it out they have not made a firefox 64 bit edition im currently installing all my programs. Again ran thru a problem with Asus software specificallyh EPU-6 which i use to downclock when im just browsing and since i use it alot i wanted it but i found a newer version then the beta one supplied on Asus website and its working fine. So far i can say its pretty cool and btw guys it only costed me 50 bucks with the DVD theres a promotion if yer in school i can give you the website.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2009, 09:52 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Anyone else finding the Search function in Win7 a little bit more confusing then it should be i prefer the xp interface i wish there was a way to set it where it does not search only the library first but the harddrives?
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2009, 04:53 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

I couldn't find the search at first
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2009, 05:06 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Code:
Log Name:      System
Source:        Service Control Manager
Date:          12/11/2009 7:59:49 AM
Event ID:      7000
Task Category: None
Level:         Error
Keywords:      Classic
User:          N/A
Computer:      ************
Description:
The Diagnostic Service Host service failed to start due to the following error: 
A privilege that the service requires to function properly does not exist in the service account configuration. You may use the Services Microsoft Management Console (MMC) snap-in (services.msc) and the Local Security Settings MMC snap-in (secpol.msc) to view the service configuration and the account configuration.
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
  <System>
    <Provider Name="Service Control Manager" Guid="{555908d1-a6d7-4695-8e1e-26931d2012f4}" EventSourceName="Service Control Manager" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="49152">7000</EventID>
    <Version>0</Version>
    <Level>2</Level>
    <Task>0</Task>
    <Opcode>0</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x8080000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2009-12-11T11:59:49.649661500Z" />
    <EventRecordID>19176</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID="520" ThreadID="4196" />
    <Channel>System</Channel>
    <Computer>************</Computer>
    <Security />
  </System>
  <EventData>
    <Data Name="param1">Diagnostic Service Host</Data>
    <Data Name="param2">%%1297</Data>
  </EventData>
</Event>
WTF, 135 instances in the past hour.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2009, 05:18 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

i wish i knew what that window said lol where did yu see that?
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2009, 05:30 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

11468 occurances in the last 7 DAYS.

Our IT guy was quick to say he wasn't having this problem with Win7, but when I told him to check the logs, he's been getting it as well
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2009, 05:38 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

how do i check that?
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching my Notebook to Win7 x64 Ultimate, SSD recommendations? AERo Storage 15 November 27, 2009 11:23 AM
I7 x64 or XP x64 for gaming PC? Georgian New Builds 9 November 1, 2009 12:28 PM
Starcraft 2 - Battle Report 4 Spaceman-Spiff Gaming 14 October 23, 2009 08:41 AM
Vista x64 / Win7 x64 + 4gigs ram = Which TV tuner (Shaw Digital : Vancouver) KylSp HTPC Systems & Software 7 June 18, 2009 03:13 AM
Starcraft II battle report 2 Alwaysrun Gaming 22 April 30, 2009 01:17 PM