Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
View Poll Results: What Host OS for VMWare Server
Server 2003 x64 6 100.00%
Windows XP 64 0 0%
Voters: 6. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2009, 10:24 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default VMWARE Server HOST OS

A friend of mine is having trouble with deciding on an HOST OS for running vmware server. He want's to stick with windows since that is what he knows so no saying install linux he won't do it. he has come down to either Server 2003 or XP 64. I personally have recommended Server 2003 but he want's to know what you guys think.

Hardware Specs are

AMD 64 X2 5000+ Black Edition
8GB DDR II Ram
Gigabyte Based Mobo

It's currently running a trial of vmware ESXi but unfortunately ESXi USB support is somewhat limited.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2009, 10:26 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Only reason to use a server OS is for > 2 sockets and less "fluff" than a regular OS (in this case XP). In his case, if he's running a standard PC and knows what he's doing in XP I see no reason to use Server 2k3.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html

Last edited by CMetaphor; December 2, 2009 at 05:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2009, 11:11 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,904

My System Specs

Default

Windows 7 x64?

Though to be honest, I think a dual-core AMD is kind of lacking for running ESX, I'd want at least a quad-core.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2009, 11:18 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

no windows 7 he wants either server 2003 or xp.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2009, 01:06 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

Server 2003 is based on Vista - and is a load of problems. You want either Xp 64bit or Server 2003R2 (W7-based).
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2009, 05:17 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,904

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Server 2003 is based on Vista - and is a load of problems. You want either Xp 64bit or Server 2003R2 (W7-based).
AFAIK Server 2003 has no relation to Vista/7. It's all XP based if you want to relate it to a home OS.

Server 2008 is based on Vista and Server 2008 R2 is based on Windows 7 though.

And Server 2008 had issues running on my s939 AMD rig. It would lock up within 24h and be totally inaccessible until a hard reset. So yeah, definitely pass on Server 2k8.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2009, 05:21 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

Yes, indeed. Typo error.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2009, 05:31 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

What does he plan on doing with this system other than VMWare? For VMWare itself, the host OS doesn't make a difference. And XP x64 is based on Server 2003, so from a stability perspective they'd both be identical. What he has to consider is whether he wants the consumer UI of XP, or the extra server features that Server 2003 has to offer.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2009, 10:27 PM
kingnubian's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 305
Default

My question is, if I read this correctly, he wants to run vmware only on top of an OS. Why not just go for a bare metal hypervisor??

From personal experience I can highly recommend Proxmox or Xenserver 5.5, both of which are free. I'm sure Esxi is good as well but I haven't used it in production as the two I already mentioned do everything I ask of them & more.

The beauty of going with a bare metal hypervisor is that he can have whatever windows OS installed, multiple times if he wants, in addition to Linux, bsd , ect. His going AMD is also a good choice as even the lower end processors like the AM2 based 5000+ have AMD-V extensions which will help vm performance and is actually required, or Intel's Vt-X, to install modern Bare Metal Hypervisors.

From my personal experience if he plans to do basic things like experimenting, file serving, web serving, ect a quad isn't necessary. My present Xenserver box specs are:

Asus 760G based AM2+ Motherboard
AMD X2 550 CPU
4gig G.skill PC2-8000
2x Samsung 1Tb F1 SATA2 Hard Drives
PC Power & Cooling Silencer 420W Power Supply
Coolermaster Elite 360 Case

I run a web server (Turnkey Appliancy "http://www.turnkeylinux.org/")
File Server (Testing various Windows based Os's as well as Freenas)
Qmail Server
Various test installs


Pretty much 95% of the time the cpu is just idling.
__________________
GOD Is Good
________________________________________

Intel i7-2600K @ 4.8Ghz
Asus Sabertooth Z77
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z (1866MhZ CAS9)
NZXT Kraken X60 CPU Cooler
2x Sandisk Extreme 240GB SSD (RAID 0)
Seagate 7200.12 500gig HD
Galaxy GTX660Ti 3GB
LG DVDR
NZXT Phantom 630 Case
Antec TruPower New 750W Power Supply
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2009, 05:42 AM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

I voted for the server OS but it depends a lot on what he wants to do with the VMs.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GIGABYTE and Futuremark Host P55 OverclocKing Challenge and 10K Challenge Gav Press Releases & Tech News 1 November 13, 2009 02:31 PM
Need Help with VMware ontariotl HardwareCanucks F@H Team 28 September 26, 2009 07:20 PM
Host Id question? napier Networking 1 July 14, 2009 10:24 PM
[FS] PCI Serial ATA Host Controller Card norfolk Buy/Sell & Trade 0 May 22, 2009 10:23 AM
Host Process for Windows Services stopped working and was closed encorp O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 May 12, 2008 09:52 PM