Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2009, 11:56 AM
Rook's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 16

My System Specs

Default

Yes there is only 135GB used on this HDD, is there any tutorials you could link to for gparted, I'm clueless lol.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2009, 03:34 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Québec, QC
Posts: 79
Default

Windows has also built-in capabilities to resize NTFS/FAT filesystems (and partitions), at least on Windows Vista.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2009, 04:44 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxman View Post
Windows has also built-in capabilities to resize NTFS/FAT filesystems (and partitions), at least on Windows Vista.
Vista and Windows 7 can adjust partition sizes through Disk Management. XP and below can only create and destroy partitions.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2009, 04:54 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

you will not achieve it with windows 7. the shrink utility is nearly useless.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2009, 04:59 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,590

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
you will not achieve it with windows 7. the shrink utility is nearly useless.
Worked for me! shrunk my 100Gig partition down to ~75 to fit on my new x25-m via Ghosting.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2009, 05:07 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

he will need more than 25% to go from 500 to 150

you cannot shrink a volume beyong the point where any unmovable files are located. I try with my 500 that have 346 gb free. ( so about 125 gb use ) the max shring it will go is 220 gb ( in my case ) and it will live 146 gb free, so my partition will never fit on a 150 GB


as for ghost 75 gb on a 80 gb ssd, I wish you luck with a SSD near full capacity


.

Last edited by MarkOne; December 3, 2009 at 05:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2009, 07:19 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 454

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rook View Post
Yes there is only 135GB used on this HDD, is there any tutorials you could link to for gparted, I'm clueless lol.
Google gparted and read the wiki. It has a gui which is self explanatory. It is linux based, but works for ntfs partitions. I am not sure if it has the limitations mentioned here (presumably for win7). Instead of gparted, you can download LinuxRescueCd which contains gparted and partimage so you can shrink the partitions and then backup the image with partimage. Do not be afraid of the fact that it is linux based, since it works on nfts partitions. It is quite self explanatory, but you can google for documentation.

As I mentioned before, shrinking may go wrong and destroy your whole setup and you may end up re-install. So, an easy way out is to re-install the os in the 150GB HDD and copy your data over. Nice and simple.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2009, 07:32 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

I will understand cloning a small drive to a bigger one... but in the situation here. why not simply make a fresh install.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
......an easy way out is to re-install the os in the 150GB HDD ..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte Ghost GM-M8000 Gaming Mouse Review Comment Thread AkG Peripherals 3 July 7, 2009 02:29 PM
ghost in comp Real_DeaL311 Troubleshooting 5 February 6, 2009 10:20 AM
Disk imaging software. Il Duce Troubleshooting 6 December 21, 2008 10:27 PM
Primochill Ghost Fittings JD Water Cooling 2 August 8, 2008 09:40 PM