Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2009, 11:31 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default Windows 7 Hard Drive Performance

Performance of my WD Caviar Black 640GB in Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit looks pretty good.
Most numbers show a slight improvement from my tests with Vista Home Premium 64bit.
Maximum and minimum transfer rate is down slightly though.
Has anyone else noticed changes in hard drive performance with Windows 7 (good or bad)?

HD Tune




HdTach (for Win7 run in XP SP3 compatibility mode)


Last edited by somecanadianguy; November 21, 2009 at 03:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2009, 12:29 PM
Spikemaul's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 394

My System Specs

Default

I have not actually tested my 1TB Cavair Black yet with W7 Professional 64bit but everything seems alot faster with this OS. My previous OS was Vista 32bit and it was very slow. What's the best program for testing the performance of your HD?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2009, 12:49 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Hum hard to say..when you install a fresh OS everything look fast.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2009, 12:59 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I'd really like to see some Windows 7 hard drive performance results.
Does anyone else see a slight drop in max transfer rate?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spikemaul View Post
My previous OS was Vista 32bit and it was very slow. What's the best program for testing the performance of your HD?
Don't know what's 'best'.
I've been using these two...
HD Tune
HdTach
(for Win7 HD Tach has to be set to run in XP compatibility mode)

I'm sure there are others, but those two are free and widely used.

Last edited by somecanadianguy; November 21, 2009 at 03:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2009, 01:18 PM
Spikemaul's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 394

My System Specs

Default

Yeah a clean install is always nice.

Here's my HD Tune 2.55
Name:  HD Tune 2.55-1.png
Views: 735
Size:  48.9 KB
I'n not sure if this is good for this HD? I have not done much HD testing and I have not researched it alot.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2009, 01:40 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

here mine on my 2x36 raptor raid 0
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2009, 01:54 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

the one of a black 500 we can say the min, is over 50 , since the short peak of the 25 results in a background opertion





and a blue 500, I really need to put a fan on this one , but the black have a nice temp




who say that a black perform more than a blue

Last edited by MarkOne; November 21, 2009 at 02:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2009, 02:17 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

fix the problem, the HD run at 30 now
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2009, 03:08 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spikemaul View Post
Yeah a clean install is always nice.

Here's my HD Tune 2.55
Attachment 8221
I'n not sure if this is good for this HD? I have not done much HD testing and I have not researched it alot.
I see the Max Transfer Rate is almost exactly the same as mine.
Did you ever test it in Vista?
I got slightly higher max transfer rate in Vista (by 2 - 5 MB/s).
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2009, 03:12 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkOne View Post
who say that a black perform more than a blue
Defragging the black may help with your numbers.
I'm also wondering if the drives are in different systems.
If so, the one with the black may need some updated drivers (burst rate looks a bit low... I had a similar issue with a 500GB black).

Last edited by somecanadianguy; November 21, 2009 at 03:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
hard drive , hdd , performance , western digital , windows 7

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 and i7 Performance SEVEN O/S's, Drivers & General Software 11 August 27, 2009 09:56 PM
Top 10 Windows Vista Performance Tweaks badatcards Guides & How-to's 16 August 17, 2009 03:06 PM
Windows 7 installtion doesn't detect hard drive rapmaster Troubleshooting 0 May 14, 2009 02:24 PM
Installing Windows Vista to a SATA3G hard drive Mr. Gruntsworthy Storage 19 October 6, 2008 09:50 PM
X-Bit Performance analysis of 400GB Hard Drives in RAID configurations Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 February 26, 2007 06:25 AM