Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2009, 09:28 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default Anti-virus in Virtual XP mode

Yesterday I install the Virtual XP in my Laptop, it indicate me that I have no anti-virus. So it bring me to thing, that if I install one it my conflict with the one of Win 7 no ? , all true I will not install one, since all my software work in 7
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2009, 11:40 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

It won't interfere, it only runs within the VM. Use MS Security Essentials for the VM, as it's free.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 20, 2009, 01:41 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

I agree with Perineum, however you shouldn't have to do anything in XP Mode to have to use an anati-virus program. It is solely for programs that need to be run in an older OS, and that's it. There's really no point surfing the web on it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anti-Virus - Do you run one? Which? zlojack O/S's, Drivers & General Software 111 February 22, 2010 09:34 PM
Microsoft Security Essentials Goes Public, Free Anti-Virus Software For All FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 41 October 7, 2009 10:07 AM
Which Anti-virus do you use Forge O/S's, Drivers & General Software 78 August 22, 2008 05:39 PM
Kaspersky Anti-Virus 7.0 - $15 @ Futureshop (Today only) Jmac O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 December 20, 2007 08:45 PM
eTrust Anti-Virus any good? Gav O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 March 19, 2007 09:41 PM