Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2007, 10:48 AM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Translated: Windows Vista = Windows ME
Huh ? I also heard that MS were working on a new OS already.
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2007, 10:58 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,503

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Translated: Windows Vista = Windows ME
That is laughable. Almost all issues with Vista are user error. Others are driver problems since none of the hardware makers tried to create anything workable.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2007, 10:59 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,503

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patriote View Post
Huh ? I also heard that MS were working on a new OS already.
They are, but we'd be lucky to see a workable version within 4-5 years.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2007, 11:24 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
That is laughable. Almost all issues with Vista are user error. Others are driver problems since none of the hardware makers tried to create anything workable.
User error? So like installing the nvidia drivers for my video causes screen corruption is user error? Think not.

How about my control panel randomly dissapearing? Or DWM randomly crashing.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2007, 05:16 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patriote View Post
Huh ? I also heard that MS were working on a new OS already.
Was codenamed Blackcomb, then Viennia, now it's called Windows 7.


Live Search: windows 7
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 13, 2007, 05:27 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,503

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
User error? So like installing the nvidia drivers for my video causes screen corruption is user error? Think not.

How about my control panel randomly dissapearing? Or DWM randomly crashing.
No. This would be because of the crappy driver support, especially by Nvidia like I also stated.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2007, 10:16 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 169
Default

ya i'm with b1...Vista is far better now than before thanks to drivers getting leaps and bounds better. I haven't had a Vista issue (that didn't have to do with me) in over 2 months.
__________________
3800X2@2.2GHz--2gb PC3200--200Gb Maxtor SATA2--eVga 8800GTS 320mb--eVga nForce4 SLI mobo--Klipsch 4.1--Antec nine hundred case w/Vantec 120mm on side--Vista Premium 64bit

Join our Folding@Home team!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2007, 10:23 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,532

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
No. This would be because of the crappy driver support, especially by Nvidia like I also stated.
I don't buy that........

A company like Nvidia (especially with something new like DX-10 in the works) is going to devote a lot of time to making the best drivers they possibly can.

IMO, it's a lot more to do with the way the drivers need to be integrated into Vista, than it is about the coders on their end.

I wonder how much M$ is charging hardware manufacturers for driver certification, and how is that going to affect long term support for OEM hardware?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gaming Pack... omgwtf Peripherals 15 July 25, 2008 07:11 AM
New COD4 Map Pack en route Babrbarossa Gaming 1 March 25, 2008 10:29 AM
Microsoft: Vista service pack coming in '08 Supergrover Press Releases & Tech News 1 August 29, 2007 05:44 PM
Crucial service - Outstanding JayDee RAM 5 July 18, 2007 08:57 AM
Thx for the great service.... torq64 Suggestions & Feedback 4 February 6, 2007 11:37 AM