Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 08:39 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 27
Default Windows 7 install problem.

I'm clean instaling windows 7 home premium on a new build and the installation freezes at 89% expanding windows file. It is the second time that this happens at 89% and once at 13%. My build is a amd phenom 2 x4 965. Asus m4a78t-e. Corsair modular 750 volt psu. Hp3. Mushkin ram 4gb

Last edited by shammancer; November 12, 2009 at 09:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 12, 2009, 10:32 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,366

My System Specs

Default

how long did you wait sometimes like Vista it will seem to be just sitting there for like 15 minutes doing nothing no hard drive lights or anything but if you leave it alone it will finish.
or you have a burned copy in which you most likely have a bad burn , if you are going to burn any OS burn at the slowest speed otherwise it can corrupt it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2009, 04:33 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

can you please give me the detail on which sata port are each drive , I run in similar problem sometime, especially yesterday .
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2009, 04:44 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

installing 7. then only have pluged the os drive. you'll see why
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2009, 06:35 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 27
Default

It has now been running for 12 hours. The HDD is on sata port 1 and the dvd drive is on sata port 2. The mouse is not respondong either. The three dots do not rotate in between themselves on the screen.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2009, 06:40 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

try the dvd on sata 3
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2009, 04:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 27
Default

I fixed it. Switched the sata and pulled out a ram stick
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2009, 05:11 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

so you don't know is it's the ram or the sata plug the problem ? I will have try only one at the time.... you still don't know if the ram is ok.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 13, 2009, 05:30 PM
Spikemaul's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 394

My System Specs

Default

I think it's the ammount of ram installed at install time. I've read many posts on sevenforums.com about this problem. I'm going to do the install with just a 2gb stick installed and put the other 6gb in once the install has finished and I'm assured that it works.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To: Install DX11 on Windows Vista SKYMTL Guides & How-to's 15 November 1, 2009 09:40 AM
Failed Windows 7 Install lanken123 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 October 17, 2009 08:50 PM
Can't get windows to install AmuseMe Troubleshooting 29 September 12, 2009 01:20 PM
Formatting. Install Windows XP or Windows 7 geokilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 29 July 7, 2009 02:32 PM
Windows XP installation problem, freezing on install, need help! Dot Merix O/S's, Drivers & General Software 7 July 25, 2008 03:19 PM