Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 31, 2009, 11:24 PM
NES NES is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto East, Whitby ON
Posts: 17
Default Very Odd Boot Issue

Well today Im scratching my head cause im not able to boot into Vista heres the scenario...

I have a few computer set-ups in the basement and this one is actualy for sale so its not plugged all the time. Asus Rampage Extreme x48 with a single drive dual boot (Vista Ultimate 64bit default and XP PRO 32bit). I installed a new pair of memory turned it on, not realizing the monitor DVI was unplugged from the monitor, I reset the pc once cause I thought it does not like the ram. So I plugged the monitor and got to the bios and changed my ram settings, boots fine on XP, played COD5 for an hour so ram is stable...lol, but black screen on Vista. So fine I said ived corrupted some files, went to safe mode and just freezes loading drivers. I booted on to my Vista CD and would get blank screen after it says loading. So weird, how do I fix or re-install if I cant get the CD to go through Vista installation, even tried my windows7 CD and same thing.

Does anyone have an idea whats going on...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2009, 01:19 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,723

My System Specs

Default

How much memory do you have installed?

Is it possible there's something wrong with the memory above what a 32bit OS can access?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2009, 10:59 PM
NES NES is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto East, Whitby ON
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
How much memory do you have installed?

Is it possible there's something wrong with the memory above what a 32bit OS can access?
You are totaly right...its 2x2GB OCZ Reaper I just bought and took one stick out and it boots fine on Vista Ultimate 64bit. Ill have to do some memtest on these then and see if any of my board slots have issue.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd issue with overclocking and CPU voltage Arundor Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 July 8, 2009 02:09 PM
Cold Boot Freezing issue. Sheep O/S's, Drivers & General Software 66 June 2, 2009 07:28 PM
Dual boot Ghosting issue ipaine O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 May 13, 2009 07:25 PM
X58 / I7 Cold Boot Issue rjbarker Troubleshooting 10 March 21, 2009 12:28 PM
EVGA X58 OC'ing boot issue kruzn4evr CPU's and Motherboards 6 February 6, 2009 09:49 PM