Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2009, 03:49 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 179
Default Failed Windows 7 Install

Alright, I tried installing Windows 7 Ultimate on my desktop, and it failed. This is what it tells me;

Setup is staring service

and then a error window

"The computer restarted unexpectedly or encountered an unexpected error. Windows Installation cannot be proceed. TO install windows, click OK to restart the computer, and then restart the installation."

now I never restarted the PC, it did that automatically. after I restart, it gives me the same error.

any ideas? it's a real copy fyi.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2009, 03:58 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,680
Default

Could be general system instability. Is your system overclocked? If so, set it to stock.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2009, 04:28 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,064

My System Specs

Default

Just to make things clear, are you updating to windows 7 or are you wanting to do a full clean install?

If this is a full install, then I do suggest setting it to stock as Sky mentioned. Also you should make sure you have nothing extra plugged into you machine, printers, external drives, etc.

I have installed Windows 7 on quite a few machines and so far they have all worked without issue, but non of them are overclocked when I installed.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2009, 04:57 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

w7 64 requires it to be more stable than xp
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2009, 08:50 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,916

My System Specs

Default

Are you using any form of Unattended file? I've had that error come up after the installation froze due to a badly formed unattended XML.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get windows to install AmuseMe Troubleshooting 29 September 12, 2009 01:20 PM
Formatting. Install Windows XP or Windows 7 geokilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 29 July 7, 2009 02:32 PM
Vista SP1 ... Failed to install 4 times and going for 5... TwystedMonkey O/S's, Drivers & General Software 7 May 26, 2008 02:48 PM
RAID Striping - Windows install??? mattydies Troubleshooting 3 October 17, 2007 07:53 PM
Changing mobo, do I have to re-install Windows? francois methot CPU's and Motherboards 9 July 12, 2007 02:10 PM