Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2009, 09:00 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 59
Default

It may be an upgrade after all. Stupid Digital River...

BUT, you can make it a full version and install it on a blank HDD.

1) Just install the upgrade bootable disk to a blank HDD; it will ask you for your license key (and for some reason it probably won't accept it). Leave the field blank and proceed with the install.

2) When you boot up Windows 7, it will mention that it is a trial version.

3) Reinstall the upgrade over the trial version of Windows 7. For some reason this time around the installation will "see" the existing windows installation and the license key should work, essentially "upgrading " over the existing trial version..

Its been reported that this method works.

Give it a try!

JD
__________________
Case: Coolermaster Cosmos 1000
Mobo: Gigabyte X48-DS4
CPU: Intel Quad q9550
PSU: Corsair 750w
GPU: Diamond HD4870
RAM: 4gb Corsair XMS2 PC2-6400
HDD: 2 x 640gb WD Caviar
Audio: Auzentech Forte 7.1
OD: Pioneer DVR-216
OS: Vista Ultimate SP1
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2009, 10:14 AM
FrankyG's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Shediac,NB
Posts: 158
Default

I used my sisters email bought a copy...
__________________
AMD FX9590
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
16 GB DDR3
2x MSI GTX780 Lightning
1200W Antec PSU
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2009, 08:22 PM
Deeival's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 285
Default

I just finished my installation using the bootable CD version. It never asked me for my Vista key - although it might have found it since it was still installed.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2009, 09:23 PM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,666
Default

made my ISO but not quite ready to format and install it just yet. I will be getting a memory stick for this and will make that bootable and keep it around, more durable and faster than dvds
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2009, 12:18 PM
FrankyG's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Shediac,NB
Posts: 158
Default

Made an ISO and it worked prefectly installed just like a full install and I had a blank hard drive.
__________________
AMD FX9590
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
16 GB DDR3
2x MSI GTX780 Lightning
1200W Antec PSU
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2009, 08:27 AM
artistpavel's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 579

My System Specs

Default

My wife is a student, so we had no problem picking it up.

I edited it to be able to upgrade from RC, I'm not ready to do clean install yet:

How to Upgrade the Windows 7 RC to RTM (Final Release) :: the How-To Geek

and in order to upgrade it has to be Ultimate as well:

How to install any version of Windows 7 | Windows 7 Center

well and an ISO creating guide as was mentioned earlier:

Make bootable iso from student d/l - Windows 7 Forums
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To the Students: When is your tuition due? Bucklaz Off Topic 11 June 17, 2009 01:23 AM
Thunderbird in Windows7 & importing mail biff Troubleshooting 4 May 4, 2009 06:17 PM
[WTT] Wtt sli mb cheap cheap cheap WolfBane Buy/Sell & Trade 24 February 3, 2009 05:56 PM
LF 8800GS, cheap quality PSU around 400W, any cheap C2D CPU klaiboi Buy/Sell & Trade 6 November 2, 2008 06:21 PM
MSNBC kills students! Babrbarossa Off Topic 3 April 19, 2007 07:27 AM