Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2009, 08:16 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacka View Post
Hey my school is on it, but it require a username & password? do you know where I can sign up for this?
Strange. When I did it, it just gave a login screen. I logged in with my college's ID and network password, and it let me download it no problem.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2009, 08:47 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,607

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
Strange. When I did it, it just gave a login screen. I logged in with my college's ID and network password, and it let me download it no problem.
What faculty are you in? Typically all students whom are in computer science, computer/electrical and computer engineering students are the ones who qualify for this and are automatically registered for it
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2009, 02:22 PM
Deviant's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UWO :D or Toronto
Posts: 355

My System Specs

Default

At Western, all you have to do is enroll in one computer science course. I didn't know that and it was a rather nice surprise to see MSDNAA access. Only thing is, only 1 key because the school isn't including x64...way to stay in the medieval times.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2009, 01:09 PM
CroSsFiRe2009's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,111

My System Specs

Default

Heh..arinoth, surprisingly I can't get into the UWO ENG MSDNAA website..my logins don't work. What did you use for yours?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2009, 02:59 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 59
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by muse108dc View Post
its the upgrade version which i am still trying to make up my mind about
Not true, it is the full retail version. I e-mailed them about this and they told me you could install Windows 7 from a blank HD without a previous version of Windows installed.
__________________
Case: Coolermaster Cosmos 1000
Mobo: Gigabyte X48-DS4
CPU: Intel Quad q9550
PSU: Corsair 750w
GPU: Diamond HD4870
RAM: 4gb Corsair XMS2 PC2-6400
HDD: 2 x 640gb WD Caviar
Audio: Auzentech Forte 7.1
OD: Pioneer DVR-216
OS: Vista Ultimate SP1
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2009, 03:13 AM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricknash61 View Post
Not true, it is the full retail version. I e-mailed them about this and they told me you could install Windows 7 from a blank HD without a previous version of Windows installed.
You sure, I was certain its the upgrade for $30.

Unfortunately my university does not have any connection to MSDNAA. Would have enrolled in a compsci course for it too. Owell, I'll probrably still take that course in the spring. Maybe my uni will have it by then
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2009, 10:48 AM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,714
Default

hmm, still not available in canada...
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2009, 11:12 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rocky Mountain House
Posts: 837

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by muse108dc View Post
hmm, still not available in canada...
It is available in Canada. $39.99 for students. There's been an ongoing discussion about it over @ RFD:
[Comp] STUDENTS: Windows 7 Pro $40 - RedFlagDeals.com Forums

Apparently the download isn't an iso file, so people have been working on a solution to make it into one:
Make bootable iso from student d/l - Windows 7 Forums
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2009, 12:50 PM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,714
Default

thanks for both links. I was stuck on the us site.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old October 22, 2009, 06:32 PM
Spaceman-Spiff's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: burnaby.bc.ca
Posts: 355
Default

So far none in the list seems to be a Canadian college/university:

Windows 7 US Online Store
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To the Students: When is your tuition due? Bucklaz Off Topic 11 June 17, 2009 02:23 AM
Thunderbird in Windows7 & importing mail biff Troubleshooting 4 May 4, 2009 07:17 PM
[WTT] Wtt sli mb cheap cheap cheap WolfBane Buy/Sell & Trade 24 February 3, 2009 06:56 PM
LF 8800GS, cheap quality PSU around 400W, any cheap C2D CPU klaiboi Buy/Sell & Trade 6 November 2, 2008 07:21 PM
MSNBC kills students! Babrbarossa Off Topic 3 April 19, 2007 08:27 AM