Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2009, 08:30 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 377

My System Specs

Default Technet gave me non-genuine Windows 7 key?

So I recently built put a computer together in Edmonton and put a Windows 7 RTM key that Technet gave me. Now Windows 7 is saying that the key is not genuine. Anyone have this happen before? And should I contact Technet to correct it?

Edit: Or would I contact Microsoft?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2009, 08:34 AM
Gellidius's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Quebec
Posts: 349

My System Specs

Default

i would contact both
__________________
Jacques


Ego cogito, ergo deus non est.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2009, 12:40 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,612

My System Specs

Default

Contact both (as they amount to the same thing). But ensure you're typing in the serial correctly. (O's vs 0's, I's vs 1's, etc.) I know that sounds obvious, but when I put Windows 7 RTM on my second PC here, I copied the key down wrong from technet and thought I got a bum key too.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What does Technet come with? geokilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 37 September 24, 2009 12:08 PM
[WTB] Windows 7 Retail Key ToXic Buy/Sell & Trade 5 August 27, 2009 07:01 PM
Windows Genuine Advantage Phobia O/S's, Drivers & General Software 12 March 31, 2009 04:54 AM
Th Dr. gave me the bug. Sniper Water Cooling 39 December 3, 2008 08:47 AM
Does anyone know how to get a copy of Windows Vista Ultimate? I already have a key... Misoprostol O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 December 6, 2006 08:39 PM