Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 04:11 PM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 670

My System Specs

Default Norton and reformatting

My dad has an older computer that moves as fast molasses in winter. I don't think its ever been formatted in its 4 yr lifetime so I was about to do that but wasn't sure what happens with norton. He's been paying for it's subscription since he's got it and the Norton site said Norton can be re-downloaded if it is newer than a 2006 version but I don't think it is. He has the disc for it somewhere, but wont he still need some kind of username/password? If so I can guarantee he won't remember that. Once his subscription runs out I will urge him to try Avira or something
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 05:22 PM
Putz's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stratford, Ontario
Posts: 116
Default

just don't use norton stuff, ever

half the time norton is what makes the pc so damn slow, if hes going to pay for it, get nod32, if he wants free, use avira
__________________
Samsung 305t+ 30"
i7 920 @ 3.875 1.20v /EVGA Classified/12gb gskill1600/Two EVGA gtx285 SC 2gb SLI
2xIntel x-25-m SSD Raid 0 / Antec 1200 / Corsair 1000w / Win7 RTM /Auzentech Forte
QNAP TS-209II 2x1TB Raid 1 NAS
heat: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=244

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 06:46 PM
Gellidius's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Quebec
Posts: 349

My System Specs

Default

once you have got rid of Norton (once it's uninstalled) make a search in "C" for whatever can be left and delete. Also look for hidden files.

once you've defragged, you'll be surprised at the speed difference.

around 2000 i had a 400MHz Pentium and Norton was installed in it. It would just crawl...
__________________
Jacques


Ego cogito, ergo deus non est.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 08:23 PM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 670

My System Specs

Default

Neither of those are answers to my question. He has already paid for Norton so he will use it until its time is up.. get money's worth I guess.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 08:53 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clone63 View Post
Neither of those are answers to my question. He has already paid for Norton so he will use it until its time is up.. get money's worth I guess.
Waste personally.

Your just gonna end up with headaches and trouble not worth anyones time.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 09:10 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Norton Internet 2009 is actually pretty good from reading reviews. Not a system hog like previews versions and not much gets buy it. I had 2007 version and man did it slow down my rig. Anyways back to your problem don't worry about it since you can get some good free ones like AVG and others.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 11:06 PM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,356

My System Specs

Default

Kill Norton now. Trust me.

__________________
Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 - Intel i5 2550K @ 3.4 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x4 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 1600 - EVGA GTX560 Ti
1x120 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Corsair TX650 - 22" Hanns-G - Windows 7 Pro 64 SP1



The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2009, 11:13 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,157
Default

Norton FTL. That is all. Tell him that it will slow his computer down and will be pretty much useless
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2009, 11:54 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Kill Norton now. Trust me.

Look for the "Norton Unistall Utility" and run it.....delete delete delete....
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2009, 04:04 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Norton is why it's sloooooooooooooooooooooooow... Crappy bloatware.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Norton Antivirus 2009 3 of 7 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 November 17, 2008 07:10 AM
Reformatting... automatic Troubleshooting 12 October 23, 2008 11:12 PM
Norton 360 - Disables Itself - POS misterlarry O/S's, Drivers & General Software 16 May 9, 2008 06:29 PM
reformatting cmac79 Troubleshooting 7 April 11, 2008 12:11 PM
Norton 360 to Ship Next Month Babrbarossa O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 February 23, 2007 08:33 AM