Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 08:30 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default Vista partition question

I'm trying to shrink a partition in Vista and cannot get it any smaller because of a file called $Bitmap.
MyDefrag shows it at the end of the partition and it's unmovable.
Anyone know what to do about this (besides reinstall Vista)?

Last edited by somecanadianguy; August 30, 2009 at 01:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 07:10 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,929

My System Specs

Default

Use an actual partitioning program, not Windows. They typically will restart your computer and it will resize the partitions before Windows loads, thus being able to move anything.

I've always used Acronis DiskDirector (paid app) and you could try this free one I came across, though haven't tried personally: Partition Wizard

Another option is GParted -- Live CD/USB/PXE/HD
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 07:23 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,598

My System Specs

Default

Same here, i typically have used or do use Acronis DiskDirector as it allows me to grow/shrink the partion to whatever i want and its only a restart away to apply changes.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 12:10 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I used MyDefrag, but it won't move those files (if it can I don't know how).
I guess I'll try a different one if MyDefrag won't work.
How safe are those other ones?

Is there no way to move the $Bitmap file besides defrag?
I can't seem to find much useful info on this.
From what I gather it was created by Windows in the middle of the partition, which was originally around 530GB.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 12:36 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Default

Those apps like acronis are safe.
I have used disk director before at buddies
Best way to do it likely.
I never defrag so I wouldn't know about your specific issue.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9


Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 12:48 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

The problem seems to be that when I originally created the partition, Vista made a file called $Bitmap in the middle.
Now I want to shrink that partition down to around 150GB, but can't get it less than half which is around 265GB because $Bitmap is unmoveable.
Will those partition programs work around this file?
Is it safe to?

Some more reading shows me that others have had the same issue and defrag software usually does not fix it.
Can't find a definate answer as to whether it's safe to partition around the $Bitmap file with a 3rd party program.
I may have to either move all files to my new partition then delete the old one and make a new one, or just format and reinsstall Vista.
I may just reinstall and start new, but I can't right now because I have some stuff to backup and my external HDD is being used by my gf...

Last edited by somecanadianguy; August 30, 2009 at 03:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2009, 07:21 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,929

My System Specs

Default

Like I said, proper partitioning programs (aka not Windows) work before the OS is loaded, meaning that every single file is able to be moved. No files are in use at that time.

The program will move the file accordingly to have enough free space for the partition you want to make.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install Vista on Partition Question futbol94 Storage 7 April 13, 2009 06:32 PM
question about vista and wireless ragenrok O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 August 11, 2008 07:11 PM
how do you make a bootable Vista partition on RAID 0??? howdid Troubleshooting 2 August 2, 2008 09:37 PM
Fat Partition to NTFS Boot Partition PaxeSalute O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 May 2, 2008 01:28 PM
Vista Boot Agent question slugbug O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 April 30, 2007 12:50 PM