Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2009, 04:04 AM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,697
Default I looked at firefox's memory usage...

and fainted at the sight. Now I have 4 gigs of ram so it isnt a huge issue, well I dont close it that often so it might be a medium sized issue. Appearantly at this moment in time Firefox is using a whopping 600MB of ram. Is that normal, I have quite a few windows open and quite a few tabs in each of those, but for a browser it seems high.

I was also wondering if Opera, or anouther browser was better at memory management, as I said this seems crazy high, no wonder when I use my laptop it gets bogged down.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2009, 06:26 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

It depends how much each page needs to load. Ones with Java and Flash take much more resources.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2009, 09:51 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 967
Default

I'm currently sitting at just over 200mb with 5 tabs open. I also tend to keep Firefox open for days on end. I've never had it cause any issues though.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2009, 12:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Default

currently my firefox is at 194mb with over 10 tabs open and its been like this for a couple days now. 600mb sounds like a lot, what do you have open!?

from what i hear, chrome from google is supposedly lightweight but i still prefer firefox because im so used to it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2009, 12:19 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,986

My System Specs

Default

266 mb with 23 tabs open...

Just close & save tabs, open again...
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2009, 07:33 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,909
Default

262 mb with 3 firefoxes open and 36 tabs..depends..
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2009, 10:40 PM
CroSsFiRe2009's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,111

My System Specs

Default

600mb here with only 2gigs ram..its a hog but as jake said, save the session, restart ff if it really starts to bog down
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2009, 11:57 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Peterborough/Barrie Ontario
Posts: 292
Default

Once I tried to see how much memory I could make firefox use at one time... Started when I didnt notice my cat was pressing the F1 key and I suddenly had a hundred tabs of firefox help.
I think it crashed completely at 3gb ish, I have a screenshot just before but I have to find it.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 12:05 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Posts: 53
Default

FF memory usage has never been an issue for me. Even with 5-6 tabs open, the browser rarely goes above 100mb RAM usage.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 10, 2009, 04:30 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 561
Default

*sigh* extensions are freaking brutal with the memory usage...i'm pretty sure FF cold boots using more memmory than you guy lol
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Usage when Folding Chos3n HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 October 30, 2009 11:23 PM
pf usage under windows xp.. omgwtf O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 April 4, 2009 12:23 PM
SuperPi thread usage death_hawk Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 February 2, 2009 01:05 AM
I swear I looked far and wide, but I need someone to explain "strapping" to me donimo Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 21 January 12, 2008 03:20 PM
core usage question Jim CPU's and Motherboards 2 July 12, 2007 07:32 PM