Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2009, 04:27 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,577

My System Specs

Default Programming Problem

As some of you may or may not remember i am doing the Custom Strobe Lights worklog and i've come into a little bit of a problem. It seems that the microphone i have is a little too sensitive in picking up changes in volume (i can talk and it'll pick it up). Now i am doing the software side using a modified version of C for the arduino board and i was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for me to be able to get some kind of peak detection in certain volume ranges from music but not pick up a person talking.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2009, 07:46 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

you get this solved yet Arinoth?
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2009, 08:13 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,577

My System Specs

Default

Yes and no, i didn't solve what i wanted but i increased the volume threshold it requires so that doesn't pick up my voice and "should" work when i have my music up at party volumes
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2009, 12:19 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Typically a person's voice frequency ranges from 300 Hz to 3.4 kHz, so you could perhaps add a function in there, if it can support it, to lower the gain in that frequency range. A high pass or band-pass filter should be able to do it. However, I assume you want the strobe to work on the bass beat? If that's the case, you will have to use a bandpass filter.

Can you make a transfer function in the code?

Last edited by bojangles; August 7, 2009 at 12:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2009, 01:48 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,577

My System Specs

Default

The microphone doesn't give me the frequency, rather then it gives me the intensity of the sound/volume. Currently i think i have a set up, i tried it out, and unless someone is yelling only the music causes the LEDs to go on (i'm working in the very high range for the volume)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardware problem or HAL problem? andynerd Troubleshooting 1 March 7, 2009 08:03 PM
Programming Phobia O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 November 16, 2008 03:54 PM
programming how to's? klaiboi Guides & How-to's 7 June 22, 2008 07:23 PM
Guides to software programming magictorch Guides & How-to's 0 April 3, 2008 09:50 AM
problem... omgwtf Troubleshooting 35 May 15, 2007 08:06 PM