Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2009, 04:27 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,717

My System Specs

Default Programming Problem

As some of you may or may not remember i am doing the Custom Strobe Lights worklog and i've come into a little bit of a problem. It seems that the microphone i have is a little too sensitive in picking up changes in volume (i can talk and it'll pick it up). Now i am doing the software side using a modified version of C for the arduino board and i was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for me to be able to get some kind of peak detection in certain volume ranges from music but not pick up a person talking.
__________________
Here I am: here I remain
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2009, 07:46 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 826

My System Specs

Default

you get this solved yet Arinoth?
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2009, 08:13 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,717

My System Specs

Default

Yes and no, i didn't solve what i wanted but i increased the volume threshold it requires so that doesn't pick up my voice and "should" work when i have my music up at party volumes
__________________
Here I am: here I remain
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2009, 12:19 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,684

My System Specs

Default

Typically a person's voice frequency ranges from 300 Hz to 3.4 kHz, so you could perhaps add a function in there, if it can support it, to lower the gain in that frequency range. A high pass or band-pass filter should be able to do it. However, I assume you want the strobe to work on the bass beat? If that's the case, you will have to use a bandpass filter.

Can you make a transfer function in the code?

Last edited by bojangles; August 7, 2009 at 12:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2009, 01:48 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,717

My System Specs

Default

The microphone doesn't give me the frequency, rather then it gives me the intensity of the sound/volume. Currently i think i have a set up, i tried it out, and unless someone is yelling only the music causes the LEDs to go on (i'm working in the very high range for the volume)
__________________
Here I am: here I remain
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardware problem or HAL problem? andynerd Troubleshooting 1 March 7, 2009 08:03 PM
Programming Phobia O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 November 16, 2008 03:54 PM
programming how to's? klaiboi Guides & How-to's 7 June 22, 2008 07:23 PM
Guides to software programming magictorch Guides & How-to's 0 April 3, 2008 09:50 AM
problem... omgwtf Troubleshooting 35 May 15, 2007 08:06 PM