Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2009, 02:23 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default Malwarebytes question

My gf has some problems on her pc.
She used a program called 'Scan Spyware' and it found some viruses.
I'll post the names in a few mins as she didn't write them down and is re-scanning.
The program won't removem them unless we pay...

I suggested Malwarebytes and she installed it.
It ran for about 10mins and didn't show anything so she stopped the scan.
I'm wondering if that particular program maybe doesn't show how many it's found until the entire scan is done?
Will it keep track as it scans, or show '0' until the end?



**edit**
The viruses found were:
Cekar.D
Feldor.A

Last edited by somecanadianguy; July 28, 2009 at 09:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2009, 03:21 PM
Pike's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Collingwood, Ontario
Posts: 171

My System Specs

Default

Download combofix.exe at http://www.combofix.org

Follow the instructions carefully. Something is not right if malwarebytes didn't pick up something.
__________________
"It is no measure of health to be well adjusted to a profoundly sick society" - J. Krishnamurti

E8400@3.0Ghz - Gigabyte EP45 UD3L - OCZ 4GB PC2-8500 DDR2 - Sapphire 5750 512MB - 5 Seagate HD 500GB - Plextor 712A DVD-RW - CM HAF 922
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2009, 03:31 PM
TopDogZero's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 558

My System Specs

Default

Don't know about 'Scan Spyware', be careful because there is Rouge software out there.
I would let Malwarebytes run and see what it finds or download SuperAntiSpyWare and give it a try. I've used both programs successfully to get rid of spy-ware on peoples PC's

The only problem with the free version's of these program is that they don't do real-time scanning.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2009, 03:45 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 1,122

My System Specs

Default

ComboFix is not a general purpose cleaning tool and should not be as such. ComboFix should only be used when asked by someone experienced in the use of this tool. Using this tool without supervision can cause problems with your computer.
__________________
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932179

"Be so good at what you do that you cant be ignored"

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2009, 04:16 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is online now
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,339
Default

+1 for letting malwarebytes FINISH its scan.
IF it doesn't pick up anything I'd DL and run SuperAntiSpyware. That 1 - 2 combo should take out darn near everything malware and spyware related ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2009, 04:21 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 560
Default

it ran for 10 minutes? did she let it finish running the scan?

cause i've found malware at the beginning and the end stages of the scan...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2009, 04:30 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Ok, she told me she deleted one of the files, and stuck the others in a .zip file.
Says she ran 'Scan Spyware' again and didn't find anything.
Now she says she's fixed and safe and isn't worried.
She doesn't want to try Malwarebytes again...
Aside from not showing any problems after 10mins, it gave an error on install.
Something about HpAppsomethingsomething (I didn't get to read it all, and she won't try again so I can get a good look).
I tried to convince her to just let it run but she won't...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2009, 05:10 PM
TopDogZero's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 558

My System Specs

Default

HEHE, trying to help someone that don' want said help.

I would try to convince her to let it run on the quick scan and if it finds some malware and cleans it I would run it again in deep scan mode. Someones PC I ran MalWareBytes on got most of the malware in quick scan but after running a deep scan it found a few more. Also what anti-virus is she running, the reason I ask is because some come with anti-malware built in, a free option is Avast and the upside to Avast is real time scanning for virus and malware.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2009, 08:37 PM
Pike's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Collingwood, Ontario
Posts: 171

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jay51 View Post
ComboFix is not a general purpose cleaning tool and should not be as such. ComboFix should only be used when asked by someone experienced in the use of this tool. Using this tool without supervision can cause problems with your computer.

Can you be anymore dramatic?
__________________
"It is no measure of health to be well adjusted to a profoundly sick society" - J. Krishnamurti

E8400@3.0Ghz - Gigabyte EP45 UD3L - OCZ 4GB PC2-8500 DDR2 - Sapphire 5750 512MB - 5 Seagate HD 500GB - Plextor 712A DVD-RW - CM HAF 922
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2009, 09:21 PM
netforce's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ont.
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pike View Post
Download combofix.exe at http://www.combofix.org

Follow the instructions carefully. Something is not right if malwarebytes didn't pick up something.
Never download combofix from ComboFix | freeware
The official site is A guide and tutorial on using ComboFix

More info: BleepingComputer.com > Question about Google Ads at www.combofix.org
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes