Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2009, 09:26 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,967

My System Specs

Default

Have you tried switching the port on the video card that your monitor is plugged into? Maybe it's defaulting to the other one? I know on my mom's PC it went over to her TV after it got to where you are, but it was originally on the monitor.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 07:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Default

I've tried 1 (down from 4) RAM module.
I've tried a different video card.
I've tried a different optical drive.
I've tried a different hard drive.
I've changed BIOS setting many times.
I've re-downloaded and re-burned the ISO with a different application on the slowest speed.
I've used an LCD panel and a CRT monitor.
I've tried VGA, DVI and HDMI connections.
I've tried USB and PS2 keyboards/mice.
I've tried 3 different BIOS's.

My standard setup:
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard: Gigabyte X48-DS4 ATX LGA775 X48 DDR2 2PCI-E
Video Card: Gigabyte GeForce 9800GTX+ 738MHZ 1GB 2.2GHZ 256BIT DDR3 PCI-E Dual DVI-I HDCP HDTV Out Video Card
Memory: (2) OCZ Reaper Hpc Edition PC2-8500 DDR2 4GB 2X2GB DDR2-1066 CL5-5-5-15 Dual Channel EPP Memory
Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 3.5IN 500GB SATA2 8.5MS 7200RPM 32MB Cache NCQ Hard Drive
Monitor: Samsung SyncMaster T240 24IN Widescreen LCD Monitor Black 1920X1200 20000:1 5MS VGA DVI HDMI HDCP
Optical Drives: LG GBC-H20L Black 6X BD-R/2X BD-RE BLU-RAY Reader 16X DVD+RW/-RW

Version 7000 still installs fine, but RC1 won't get past "completing installation".
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 10:33 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,967

My System Specs

Default

Well I guess it just doesn't like you then

I'm not sure if your into torrenting or not, but you could find yourself a 72xx build and try that, however you might not be able to activate with a RC key since they are pre-RTM builds.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 05:54 PM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 982
Default

The only other thing I can think of that would cause a black screen would be if you had an external drive or ipod plugged in while you are trying to do an install. Windows can get confused and not boot occasionally.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2009, 04:02 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Default

I am having exactly the same problem and noone has been able to help. I have tried everything. I have a 4GB Acer 5920G, Dual booting with Vista 32 bit and a ATI Radeon HD 3470 256MB.

I've tried booting into Windows 7 from the installation into Safe Mode, or low resolution mode. Doesn't work either. I've unplugged all devices, again doesn't work. I have been told that my recovery parition might be stopping the installation but who knows. I don't really want to delete it.

Last edited by Zenith; September 9, 2009 at 04:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
black screen , blank screen , windows 7

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black Screen With Cursor element291 Troubleshooting 16 April 8, 2009 05:12 AM
new build, black screen on boot UberMoo Troubleshooting 11 February 7, 2009 06:09 PM
Blue screen keeping me out of windows. Jake_HT Troubleshooting 0 February 2, 2009 09:02 AM
Black screen !!! Need Help toni_0177 Troubleshooting 10 August 29, 2008 11:22 PM
Vista/XP black screen problem r00tman Video Cards 12 October 3, 2007 08:37 PM