Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
View Poll Results: Which OS to install after format?
Windows XP Pro 32 bit 7 18.92%
Windows 7 32 bit 3 8.11%
Windows 7 64 bit 27 72.97%
Voters: 37. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2009, 07:59 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default Update: Installed Windows 7. Got some problems.

I'm going to format my rig in sig soon and am deciding whether to stick with Windows XP or try Windows 7. As much as I'd like to try Windows 7, I'm not a fan of beta OS. Also there's the problem with it expiring so I'd be forced to either install Windows 7 or revert back to Windows XP once it expires. I did however learn that I can install Windows 7 over an existing copy of Windows XP.

Windows: Windows 7 Pre-Order Offer Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Update: Installed Windows 7. Loving it but there's a few problems that I need help with.
__________________

Last edited by geokilla; July 5, 2009 at 02:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2009, 08:10 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,244

My System Specs

Default

Why not dualboot? If not I would say 7 64bit, I hated the beta but the RC is quite good. I did have a problem with 1 driver but grabbing the server08 version fixed me up.

You do have until mid next year to try 7 beta, thats a hell of a lot longer than I go without a fresh install.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2009, 08:16 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,540

My System Specs

Default

I have not run into a single problem with Win 7 64 bit, i would say go with it
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2009, 08:56 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
Why not dualboot? If not I would say 7 64bit, I hated the beta but the RC is quite good. I did have a problem with 1 driver but grabbing the server08 version fixed me up.

You do have until mid next year to try 7 beta, thats a hell of a lot longer than I go without a fresh install.
Would I want to dual boot? I doubt I'd dual boot because I'm lazy .

That's true...I only format when I have to and when I feel that the computer is getting glitchy.

What do you guys think of Windows 7? I understand that it's basically Windows Vista but like better and faster. I really hate the Vista/7 start menu and Windows Explorer and stuff. I find it a bit annoying. However, change is imminent and I guess you just have to get used to it.

Should I get more RAM or is 2GB enough? My main concern is the amount of RAM I got.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2009, 10:24 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,817

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
What do you guys think of Windows 7? I understand that it's basically Windows Vista but like better and faster. I really hate the Vista/7 start menu and Windows Explorer and stuff. I find it a bit annoying. However, change is imminent and I guess you just have to get used to it.

Should I get more RAM or is 2GB enough? My main concern is the amount of RAM I got.
If you only have 2GB, running Windows 7 32bit would be fine. You could run 64bit as well though just that unless you actually have a bunch of 64bit programs, it's not going to be of much benefit.

I have Windows 7 running on a 1GB DDR-400, Athlon 64 X2 4400+ (s939) PC just fine. Gets a touch slow at times but nothing horrible.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 04:42 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Windows 7 64-bit too. It also wouldn't hurt to grab a 2x2GB kit just to take advantage of it too. DDR2 kits are really cheap these days.

I've had no problems with Windows 7 yet, other than figuring out how to be able to save settings via config on steam games. I figured it out thought after the longest time. You can use Vista 64 drivers as long as it wasn't changed from the Vista API. Just try and find all Windows 7 drivers and you should be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 05:36 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Go with Windows 7 x64-bit. No reason not to go with 64-bit of your going a fresh OS install.

Don't worry about the diffrences between XP and Seven, as long as you go into it with an open mind, you'll get used to the changes relatively easily. At first things like the start menu may annoy you a bit, but trust me on this, you don't really appreciate the good things about them(changes) till you go back to XP and keep trying to do something thats not possible(in XP).

Windows 7 is really great, I've been enjoying it on my main build quite a lot, ever since the first beta has been publicly released.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 06:04 AM
freaked's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Moncton, NB
Posts: 84

My System Specs

Default

I would say go for x64 version. I went from XP to Windows 7(x64) and I have absolutely no regrets. But I would recommend doing a fresh install and not doing the upgrade route.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 06:07 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 920
Default

I vote for 7 x64. I despise Vista with a passion but really like 7. Once I was able to get the quick launch back I've been a happy camper ever since. No issues with drivers at all.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 09:20 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,615

My System Specs

Default

So I can just use Vista 64 bit drivers on Windows 7 64 bit?

I don't mind getting more RAM, but I might see how 2GB runs in Windows 7 first. I'm like a casual gamer, playing games like CoD4 every once in a while so that shouldn't be a huge problem. However if I get more RAM, I'll have to figure out what to do with my current 2GB kit.

@Chilly. What were you trying to do in Windows 7 that you can't do on XP?

@Nodscene. What's wrong with the quick launch?
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new raid0 setup, but no option to install windows to drive quikgp Storage 29 July 8, 2009 04:22 PM
Windows XP installation problem, freezing on install, need help! Dot Merix O/S's, Drivers & General Software 7 July 25, 2008 03:19 PM
RAID Striping - Windows install??? mattydies Troubleshooting 3 October 17, 2007 07:53 PM
Question about initial 1333 FSB support and inital Windows install with evga 680i Mibs CPU's and Motherboards 5 July 23, 2007 11:11 PM
Changing mobo, do I have to re-install Windows? francois methot CPU's and Motherboards 9 July 12, 2007 02:10 PM