Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2007, 08:03 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default 64 bit version

vista 64 any good yet or continue with 32 bit for gaming ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2007, 10:40 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim View Post
vista 64 any good yet or continue with 32 bit for gaming ?
I'd be VERY Warry with an Nvidia card. I don't think their 64 bit drivers are good at all.

I compared an x1600 pro to a geforce 7300GT in that OS. normally, the 7300GT should be trailing a bit behind, but it was clear that the x1600pro was more than double the performance in vista x64. I would go for 32 bit
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2007, 03:56 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 493
Default

I haven't had any problems, been using the 64-bit version since January. Word is, driver support has improved significantly even in the past couple months.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2007, 08:24 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Vista 64bit works well for pretty much everything Ive tried so far. The only things I cant run are F@H SMP and AMD System Manager.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2007, 09:00 AM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 405
Default

any advantage using it over 32 bit for 32 bit games, performance wise ?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2007, 12:27 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

32bit games run in 32bit, but Im not sure if it would help with 4GB mem to keep u outta page file. I notice no difference personally.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 16, 2007, 02:30 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim View Post
any advantage using it over 32 bit for 32 bit games, performance wise ?
Performance-wise, no.

Stability-wise, if you have 4GB or more, yes. Some new, big games (Stalker, Supreme Commander) hit up against the 2GB per program limit of 32-bit operating systems, and crash as soon as they do so. This limit is gone in 64-bit operating systems.

See this link, it does a pretty good job of explaining it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2007, 11:59 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,929

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mars View Post
Performance-wise, no.

Stability-wise, if you have 4GB or more, yes. Some new, big games (Stalker, Supreme Commander) hit up against the 2GB per program limit of 32-bit operating systems, and crash as soon as they do so. This limit is gone in 64-bit operating systems.

See this link, it does a pretty good job of explaining it.

Personally with both those games I never saw ram usage more than 1500MB on Win XP 64-bit. Dark Messiah was the only game I had which broke over 2GB of usage (2400 of total memory was in use).

I'll be tying Vista here in the next few days.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2007, 04:40 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 169
Default

Vista 4 months ago negative. Vista now is fine. Driver support has greatly improved. Just expect headaches with SLi setups is all.

not to mention, shut off windows defender and UAC or you'll go crazy.
__________________
3800X2@2.2GHz--2gb PC3200--200Gb Maxtor SATA2--eVga 8800GTS 320mb--eVga nForce4 SLI mobo--Klipsch 4.1--Antec nine hundred case w/Vantec 120mm on side--Vista Premium 64bit

Join our Folding@Home team!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 12, 2007, 07:36 AM
wpurcell's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Kemptville, Ontario
Posts: 22
Default

Hello! Is Directx X out yet? I've got two 8800GTS's I'd like to install, but I found that the antialiasing (FS 9 and X) was very poor, compared to the 7950's in XP and Vista32. I may try Vista 64 bit in the next few weeks. Any advantages to be had? P5N-SLI Mobo/Intel C2D 6600/4MB OCZ 667.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BIOS Version ?? CasheKicker CPU's and Motherboards 2 March 13, 2008 07:32 AM
ASUS P5N-E - Best Bios Version??? mattydies CPU's and Motherboards 4 January 30, 2008 12:45 PM
Best Bios Version mattydies CPU's and Motherboards 0 January 15, 2008 11:01 PM
Crysis full version now belgolas Gaming 32 November 28, 2007 04:14 PM
New CPU-Z version 1.39 released Babrbarossa Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 February 16, 2007 12:44 PM