Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2009, 11:16 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Its possible its no longer available - like i said im not familiar with Windows 7 repair tools yet. however, you should try now to use a restore point for a couple days ago to try and fix your issue.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2009, 11:20 AM
TimTheEnchanter's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 841
Default

Okay that's what i'm doing. Never had such problem but i hope this case may help other members.

I simply tried to update my HP printer drivers from windows update, and everything failed. Be careful with minor W7 updates!

Files are now getting restored, we'll see what happens. Thanks CMetaphor!
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2009, 11:22 AM
TimTheEnchanter's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 841
Default

AHHHHH. It has been restored. Booting with the right hdd....

"a disk read error occured"

pres ctrl+alt+del to restart.

Same. dam. problem.

What now?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2009, 11:25 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Might be a corrupt hard drive then - nothing to do with Win7. Figure out which manufacturer makes your hard drive, then download and burn an .iso of the diagnostic utility for that manufacturer, it may be possible to repart the corrupt sectiors... cross your fingers.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2009, 11:28 AM
TimTheEnchanter's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 841
Default

Ok, i'll try... just weird... how could that happen.

It's a seagate... but how can i burn an iso, i only got a netbook now...

and windows recovery did see all the information about my updates and drives... is it really the hdd?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2009, 11:35 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Its possible, especially if the repair and recovery options did not work. Netbook... no optical drive to speak of.... oh boy. Do you have a friend that could burn the iso for you? Or a usb flopp drive for that matter? If not, you could always use the HP Usb storage tool to format a spare usb key using windows 98 boot disk files... then run a dos-based diagnostic tool from there, but that's more complicated...
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2009, 11:38 AM
TimTheEnchanter's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 841
Default

Ok good had luck a friend is gonna burn the Seatools for dos, if that's what i need. Shouldn't be long he's close.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2009, 11:41 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Excellent, good luck with the diagnostic, hopefully those bad sectors will be repared and you can boot into windows after. you may still need to run a startup repair after the diagnostic though, just fyi.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2009, 11:53 AM
TimTheEnchanter's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 841
Default

Diagnostic is now running.

I am confused. Running seatools. It detected my two drives.

Says in the end device scan complete.

Nothing i can click, does not mention if i had problem, if it's fixed, nothing. No where i can click now.

edit : i managed to find how it works, more info coming soon.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2009, 11:57 AM
TimTheEnchanter's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 841
Default

I did the short test on my hdd, found no error. Now running long test...

Also have the accoustic test, no idea what it is.

Really, what the hell is going on!?!
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes