Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 03:36 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Well personally I'm not a huge fan of Media Center anyways.

I've much preferred XBMC Media Center for Mac OS X, Windows and Linux over Media Center any day of the week.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 03:36 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Your using acronyms I have no clue about.

TMT? VMC?
Sorry, VMC is Vista Media Center and TMT is Total Media Theater by Arcsoft. Ive tried a freeware media center once, IIRC it was MediaPortal. I'm sure it's (or anything else) is more versatile than VMC but I spent a couple days with it and didn't get too far in getting everything working properly and TBH I don't have the time these days. Maybe XBMC is different... maybe someday when I get some extra time I'll play with it.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water

Last edited by biff; June 2, 2009 at 03:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 03:43 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

MPC-HC + K-lite codec for all your needs

As for VLC, its a decent player if you don't want to install codecs but i has its problems

For blu-ray i think its better to use something like PowerDVD, it uses less resource and make those Ati work for your decoding

And WMP 11? i don't even have it configure

for the WMP 11, can't you just roll back ? or pop in the vista DVD and repair?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 06:29 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Courtice, Ont.
Posts: 1,235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
for the WMP 11, can't you just roll back ? or pop in the vista DVD and repair?
Rollbacks only go back a week and a half... someday I'll get on figuring out how (if) vista (and XP too) can save rollback points automatically. It's funny it's one of those things you don't think of until AFTER you need it.

And AFAIK Vista doesn't have the same add/remove/repair windows components from the DVD like 2k & XP did. Maybe the full version does but I have the upgrade version.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 2, 2009, 07:07 PM
TopDogZero's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 558

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
For blu-ray i think its better to use something like PowerDVD, it uses less resource and make those Ati work for your decoding
+1. Works really good with ATI cards for BlueRay and DVD's, VMC is OK for TV tuner and plays nicely with ATI avivo persets if you to use them. GOM, VLC or Media Player Classic with ffdshow for everything else.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new HDD noise on secondary drive after Vista reinstall? donimo Storage 6 December 13, 2008 10:57 PM
Reinstall XP - 2nd HD issues Matty D Storage 22 November 27, 2008 09:58 AM
Audio and Video skipping during playback WMP and Nero Showtime Eagle Eye Troubleshooting 3 September 17, 2008 01:39 PM
Trying to uninstall COD4 and.....reinstall a new copy.. Canadianguy Gaming 3 March 19, 2008 04:59 PM
Reinstall over due, bittorrent files still downloading Mysteryous O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 November 7, 2007 02:54 PM