Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2007, 09:28 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,618

My System Specs

Default

Finally got it to POST, and Memtest is stable. First stick is dead, one gazillion errors on forced test #6. Running test #6 ATM on second stick. Thanks guys, I'll keep you posted.

John

Second stick is also dead. Damn. Could it be that the memory controller is dead, instead of the sticks? Is there a way to test this?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2007, 09:34 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Not really a way to test it. Mem controller is on the mobo for intel boards anyways. Do you have another motherboard to test the ram with? Im starting to think its th XFX mobo thats your problem-maker.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2007, 09:34 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,425

My System Specs

Default

Are there any "enhanced" memory settings in bios????

If both sticks are behaving the same way my first inclination would be towards a setting that's just out of whack (set too low).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2007, 09:37 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

I seriously doubt that ram would misbehave when being set "too low". I still think your motherboard is the culprit here, as i have never seen two sticks of defective memory out of the box (1 maybe, but not 2 with the Same Problem)
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2007, 09:39 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,425

My System Specs

Default

I'm thinking tRFC (Refresh Cycle Time) is set too low, but that would normally affect the ability to boot rather than mem errors.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2007, 09:41 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

That could be possible actually. But thats still a motherboard problem more than the ram. My only point was i think the motherboard is not liking the ram at all - which is why i suggested testing the ram in a different motherboard.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2007, 10:20 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,618

My System Specs

Default

Everything RAM-wise is set to default - except voltage. I will try the tRFC later tonight, and I do still have the ECS mobo. I will try this one too. I'm really leaning towards a mobo problem too, since the ECS mobo (though no oc) was stable and actually folding too.

I'll let you guys no more tonight.

John
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD is exploring options Shadowed Press Releases & Tech News 5 April 21, 2007 12:48 PM