Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2009, 01:26 PM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,666
Default Windows 7 reboots when put in hibernate

I like hibernate, it means I dont have to close anything and everything is still intact and saved when I return, so any advice on making this work would be very appreciated as well. Worked in vista so I am not quite sure why it isnt working in 7
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2009, 02:20 PM
mklym's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central Alberta
Posts: 239
Default

Are you using a docking station?
__________________
Current Rigs

Panasonic Toughbooks
CF-18, CF-19, CF-29, CF-31, CF-52GUN

ThinkPads
X301, A31p

There is always something waiting at the end of the road, if you're not willing to see what it is, you probably shouldn't be out there in the first place.

Life's Journey is not to arrive safely at the grave in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways totally worn-out shouting 'Woo Hoo! What a ride!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2009, 02:29 PM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,666
Default

this is my PC, so no I do not think so
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2009, 02:52 PM
mklym's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central Alberta
Posts: 239
Default

Had to ask. There are ppl other than me that are running Win7 on laptops.

So it never did work in Win7, or does not work now? I have not tried hibernate, but I will put the hdd w/Win7 back in the laptop and give it a try. I'll let you know what happens, later.
__________________
Current Rigs

Panasonic Toughbooks
CF-18, CF-19, CF-29, CF-31, CF-52GUN

ThinkPads
X301, A31p

There is always something waiting at the end of the road, if you're not willing to see what it is, you probably shouldn't be out there in the first place.

Life's Journey is not to arrive safely at the grave in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways totally worn-out shouting 'Woo Hoo! What a ride!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2009, 03:39 PM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,666
Default

I actually have W7 on 1 PC, 1 Laptop, and 1 Netbook, it seems its just the PC that it doesnt work on though. And no, I cant remember it ever working on this install, it did work before I did another format and reinstall.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2009, 10:16 PM
mklym's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central Alberta
Posts: 239
Default

Well, I put Win7 back in one of the XPS and have no problem with hibernate, whether docked or undocked, plugged in or not.

So, out of a laptop, a netbook and a tower, the tower is the only one that will not hibernate. Not being able to reproduce the problem myself, I need detail about the problem. What does it do, or not do? Did you do any changes in the BIOS before, or after the format and re-install?
__________________
Current Rigs

Panasonic Toughbooks
CF-18, CF-19, CF-29, CF-31, CF-52GUN

ThinkPads
X301, A31p

There is always something waiting at the end of the road, if you're not willing to see what it is, you probably shouldn't be out there in the first place.

Life's Journey is not to arrive safely at the grave in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways totally worn-out shouting 'Woo Hoo! What a ride!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2009, 10:50 PM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,666
Default

nothing changed in bios, only a few programs/games installed, nothing that should trigger this
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2009, 06:42 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Default This worked for me!

I dont now exactly what the problem was but this is what i did. I went crazy and turnd of "Allow this device to wake the computer" under "Power management" on every device that had it.

By the way i'm using Windows 7, but i hop it will help you in vista.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2009, 06:00 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,891

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johancn View Post
I dont now exactly what the problem was but this is what i did. I went crazy and turnd of "Allow this device to wake the computer" under "Power management" on every device that had it.

By the way i'm using Windows 7, but i hop it will help you in vista.
That typically fixes sleep/hibernation. I find that it's mainly the mouse though.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
where to put my rad. kyle_L Water Cooling 17 January 4, 2009 02:04 PM
Continuous "Serious System ERror" BSOD, Reboots jazaddict Troubleshooting 20 December 31, 2008 08:26 AM
can't put my windows up to date ebdoradz O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 August 7, 2008 01:30 PM
looking to upgrade, need some in put bthacker Video Cards 4 July 25, 2008 04:23 PM
Help me put this stuff together 4DoorGTZ HTPC Systems & Software 2 October 9, 2007 01:24 PM