Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2007, 07:53 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default IE7-- should I allow it to install?

Windows downloaded an update for interent explorer 7, but I have heard that one shouldn't download it. Is this idle MS bashing, or are there real problems with it?

BTW-- I would use firefox, as I am aware of its value but unfortunately, we are using netscape 'high-speed' dial-up as we can't get true high-speed here. and the max line speed is 28.8. Firefox does not work well with the dialup accelerator, and prevents access to many sites.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2007, 09:25 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,412

My System Specs

Default

I've been running it for over a month now and I haven't had any issues.

If you're an IE person you definately want this upgrade.... tabbed browsing takes a while to get used to but it's worth it, pop up blocker works, and there is a new anti-phishing setup as well.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2007, 10:40 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,577
Default

Phising is available for firefox too.

IE7 FINALLy after what 10+ years decides to use tab browsing?

Firefox for me
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2007, 07:04 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I am running it now, and I haven't found anything awful about it- I also turned the phishing feature off as I can't afford to sacrifice any more speed.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2007, 05:14 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
I am running it now, and I haven't found anything awful about it
Until you have to do a billion updates/patch's.

I agree about tabbed browsing, why the hell did it take MS this long?

I know what you mean about FF on dial up it's a pain.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 12, 2007, 11:47 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

Working for an ISP I've seen lots of issue where IE7 doesn't handle Flash Active X controls very well. I've also seen where if you have Flash Player 9 already installed and you go to a Flash based site you get a warning telling your to upgrade your Flash.

Myself I stick to Firefox.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2007, 05:04 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I've been getting daily random shut-downs with ie7 for some reason-- haven't noticed the flash problem yet.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2007, 06:49 AM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

I've been using it on the wifes laptop for a while now and no major problems yet, but I do have one issue with it and that is mem usage. Man this thing eats mem. Usaully after about 30mins of surfin and tabbin i have to use cacheman to recover mem cause it is using btween 80 and 100 mgs of ram:(
Wifes laptop only averages around 150 mgs of free mem so it tends to slow things down. Just gotta add more mem I guess.
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2007, 07:23 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Wow-- yeah, I just checked, and it's using 125 right now
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2007, 07:26 AM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,343

My System Specs

Default

I use it along with FireFox. I've noticed that it has issues with a few websites I visit and places like our forum, the iTrader tab doesn't work properly but does in IE6.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHich Vid drivers and how do I install them Shadowmeph O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 March 14, 2008 10:56 PM
Weird result from AC Accelero S1 install donimo Video Cards 24 November 3, 2007 08:46 PM
How to install extra fan like you did trinitron6 Water Cooling 7 September 12, 2007 12:13 PM
Need Help!!! Vista wont Install! CMetaphor O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 May 18, 2007 07:25 AM
Can I install faster mem than PC6400? francois methot Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 May 4, 2007 06:40 PM