Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2009, 04:50 AM
mailaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pickering, Ontario
Posts: 145
Default New motherboard old software

So seeing as i had a motherboard die on me i need a new one

I will be installing this and using all the same components again but what does this mean for all of the programs i had installed on this computer.

I paid for products some where downloaded and a registration key was bought now i seem screwed.

Examle

Sketchup Pro 7 - was downloaded and bought but now i have a new motherboard do i have to buy a new key all over.

Windows Xp - I need a computer up and running and my Xp is installed on the old board that is screwed.

I'll be contacting Asus because this is freaking ridiculous - "O ya we'll RMA your product - It'll take a couple of weeks but ya know sit tight" - WHAT THE >>>>>>


It'll take just as long to send it back to NCIX and even if I had bought it local the 30days is up. Them having a product crap on me is not doing so well for business - Yes i have other computers but they are in use as well - Not cool.

Advice needed before i do something irrational.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2009, 07:38 AM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

Is it the same motherboard or a different chipset? If it's a straight across replacement with the same board you shouldn't see any problems software wise.
__________________
Nature always sides with the hidden flaw
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2009, 02:14 PM
mailaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pickering, Ontario
Posts: 145
Default

Ya but its not going to be a straight across replacement - I needed a freaking motherboard working for tomorrow and am not going to RMA for a Asus P5Q PRO and go buy another one today - I'm getting the Gigabyte EP45 UD3L
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2009, 04:55 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,056

My System Specs

Default

I doubt you will have much of an issue. You should not have any issue with any software you have installed.

The only place where you may have a little bit of an issue is with windows itself. Now I switched from a Nvidia chipset over to an Intel one and I only had to remove the old Nvidia drivers and then install the new Intel ones. Then I just had to reactivate windows. Really no major issues at all. Since you are getting a board with the same chipset I doubt you will have any real issues at all.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2009, 05:19 PM
mailaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pickering, Ontario
Posts: 145
Default

Cool ya that seems to be the case I need to re activate windows everything else is good.

It was most definitely the motherboard.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 28, 2009, 11:34 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

crappy deal man. I don't mean to harp on you so please don't take offense to this but it truly does pay to file your registrations and keys in hard copy in a file folder somewhere.

If your migration to the replacement board failed there are ways to rip the keys off your old installation hard drive (so long as you don't re-install your OS over top of it). Magic Jellybean keyfinder is one of them.

gl hf
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2009, 03:42 AM
mailaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pickering, Ontario
Posts: 145
Default

I still have the serial keys if this is what you mean for XP but I'm not exactly sure.

Could someone expand a little.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tax Software misterlarry O/S's, Drivers & General Software 18 April 16, 2009 08:51 AM
Back up software?? Cowinacape O/S's, Drivers & General Software 7 December 31, 2008 05:00 PM
I know this Software Exists for some VC's.. Soultribunal Video Cards 10 December 18, 2008 08:33 AM
Software WolfBane Networking 11 August 1, 2008 12:28 PM