Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 07:05 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default Recording with DV Camcorder

From what ive heard a dv camcorder makes one of the best webcams out there because it can send all the data to the pc without compressing anything and be very high quality. What im looking for now is a program to actually make use of this. Win7 detected my dv cam and downloaded a driver for it from windows update, and it works as a webcam, but using camtasia it compresses the video and makes it look fairly choppy. Any suggestions for getting the highest quality possible?
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 07:24 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,818

My System Specs

Default

I think it would be best to record the video to tape first, then import it into your PC. Sounds like you don't need a live stream.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 07:27 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
I think it would be best to record the video to tape first, then import it into your PC. Sounds like you don't need a live stream.
When you record to a dv disc or to a sd card on it then it has to compress the video as it records lowering the quality, i want a way to get every frame uncompressed.

On twitlive.tv im pretty sure they use several dv camcorders to produce some pretty amazing stream quality, but they also have a tricaster that may do some of the work
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What soundcard for recording? Dr_BenD_over Audio 10 December 3, 2008 07:09 PM
New Recording Card From Auzentech Robscix Audio 10 October 19, 2008 08:49 AM
Sound card for recording??? REDLINEHOOLIGAN Audio 8 May 24, 2007 05:27 PM