Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2009, 11:12 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 294
Default whs wont shut down

my windows server will not shut down. it freezes at "saving your settings"

having to do hard shut downs and would rather not continue that.

plz help

rob123
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2009, 11:25 PM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

I'm not up on windows server much, but typically when windows hangs shutting down like that, there is a background program that expects something from you, the user.
A good place to start is to go through all the programs that you can find that might be stuck in the middle of an update, and manually update them . ( Including windows )
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2009, 07:45 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 294
Default

thx 3 of 7. i will try that right now, although the only thing on the server is whs.

thx for the reply

rob123
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2009, 09:33 AM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,351

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rob123 View Post
my windows server will not shut down. it freezes at "saving your settings"

having to do hard shut downs and would rather not continue that.

plz help

rob123
Just out of curiosity, are you running Nod32? If you are I might have a fix. If not, i'm not to sure what the problem is.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2009, 11:37 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 294
Default

no nod here. i am using avg network edition. just trying it before buying it.

just in case i go to nod32, which i will if it is the only way to shut this thing down, what is your answer.

thx for help and answers.

rob123

p.s. i presume that it isnt really good to press the power button until it shuts down on a daily basis.

this problem didnt really happen until i installed the updates. i have installed all the critical updates from microsoft

cheers

rob123
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2009, 11:43 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

I've waited 45 minutes for windows to shut down after just installing vga driver. Yes, 45 minutes...lokking at the "Shutting Down..." screen...but eventually it did just that...

Two things...is the HDD activity light blinking when it freezes? There's a chance one of the updates needed windows to shutdown to install, and your hard shutdown prevented a successful install...


You should never need to hardkill OS anymore, unless unstable...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2009, 02:25 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 294
Default

no hard drive lights. in fact i can hear the hard drives spin down. then even the "shutting down" sign disappears. all that is left is the default blue background and the arrow from the mouse. of course the mouse arrow is frozen because the os has shut down. it seems that a message isnt getting through to the motherboard. it is at that point i have been hard shutting the computer.

thx

rob123
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2009, 03:51 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Did you try restoring to before the update?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2009, 06:50 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 294
Default

i'd have to find out which one because after my recent reinstall i put all of the updates on at once through their "windows update" site.

cheers

rob123
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2009, 08:57 PM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,351

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rob123 View Post
no nod here. i am using avg network edition. just trying it before buying it.

just in case i go to nod32, which i will if it is the only way to shut this thing down, what is your answer.

thx for help and answers.

rob123

p.s. i presume that it isnt really good to press the power button until it shuts down on a daily basis.

this problem didnt really happen until i installed the updates. i have installed all the critical updates from microsoft

cheers

rob123
If you haven't purchased Nod32 yet you will be fine. What I found was that when running an older version, when it would scan the network shared it would make WHS unresponsive and I would have to hard shut it down like you are having to do.

Updating to a newer version of Nod32 solves the problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
antivirus for WHS....... rob123 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 February 22, 2009 08:53 AM
Tab = shut off ? Kilauea O/S's, Drivers & General Software 8 November 6, 2008 05:58 PM
It's alive, even after I shut down. misterd Troubleshooting 13 August 19, 2008 06:55 AM
Business idea for WHS and HTPC's yamawho Off Topic 4 July 23, 2008 07:50 AM