Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 04:01 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default ms crap again will it every stop

just read this all i can say is the little end users getting screwed again http://www.tomshardware.com/news/win...gram,7446.html
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 04:02 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,662
Default

Some context would be nice.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 04:03 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

my links acting screwy working now (sorry)
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 04:04 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Lol man that's so lame. I could have more than 3 apps open in Win95. Why the cap now? What a money grab. :\
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 06:02 PM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

Why are you concerned about something you won't be able to buy here anyways?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 06:14 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
just read this all i can say is the little end users getting screwed again http://www.tomshardware.com/news/win...gram,7446.html
Its designed for companies that only every have 1 or 2 apps running at any given time; like employment agencies or libraries.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 06:20 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

my point is where does this go from here( remember the i upgraded my video card now re register with vista and how long before you start to see net tops at future shop with this and people who dont know any better think ya i can only run three programs at a time i just think its stupid)
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris

Last edited by gingerbee; April 1, 2009 at 07:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 06:27 PM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

I can't seem to understand your post... well, posts... like all of them...
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 06:36 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

They've been talking about this kind of super-cheap licensing for quite some time. You'll never see it offered on a full featured consumer machine, and more than likely won't even be offered as something which can be purchased individually.

Expect to see it on the machines they're designing for Africa, and possibly on small itx based single purpose machines for automotive use.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 06:37 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
my point is where does this go from here( remember the i upgraded my video card now re register and how many times before you start to see net tops at future shop with this and people who dont know any better think ya i can only run three programs at a time i just think its stupid)
You make no sense buddy.

Its called Windows 7 BASIC edition.

This won't be for 90% of the consumer users out there.. that is what Windows 7 PROFESSIONAL is for.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I cannot stop laughing right now... encorp Off Topic 36 March 15, 2009 02:50 PM
Nvidia to stop making chipsets? Cheator CPU's and Motherboards 13 August 3, 2008 09:52 AM
Vista Ultimate x64 STOP Error tehgooch Troubleshooting 11 April 26, 2008 08:02 PM
Transformers Stop Motion Fun Thund3rball Off Topic 2 January 13, 2008 10:29 AM
For crap sake Scratch O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 August 4, 2007 09:55 AM