Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 05:52 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default Windows 7 boot repair

Has anyone successfully done a Windows 7 boot repair? I installed a copy of XP on another partition and put in the Windows 7 disk for the boot repair and it said do you want to repair boot. I clicked yes, restarted but it still goes straight to XP. Now when I boot up with Windows 7 disk again it has repaired in brackets next to the w7 install and there are no other repair options.

Any idea what I gotta do here? I had W7 set up exactly how I wanted it and now I cant get back in. :(
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 06:42 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Try using the command prompt in the recovery options and do "bootrec /fixmbr" and then "bootrec /fixboot" (Without the quotes, of course). That's how I fixed my MBR for Vista when I had GRUB, so I'm pretty sure it'll work.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 06:47 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,814

My System Specs

Default

Could also probably use like EasyBCD from within XP to reinstall the Vista/7 bootloader.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 06:49 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
Could also probably use like EasyBCD from within XP to reinstall the Vista/7 bootloader.
Umm.. EasyBCD works with XP now? I thought it only worked with Vista and higher.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 15, 2009, 07:07 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,814

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infiniti View Post
Umm.. EasyBCD works with XP now? I thought it only worked with Vista and higher.
Pretty sure it does. I think I used it on my mom's Atom to get rid of Windows 7 and restore the XP bootloader, though I don't really remember...

It is listed as a supported host OS though:
Supported Operating Systems - NeoSmart Technologies Wiki
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2009, 11:59 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

What do you mean "in the recovery options"?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Infiniti View Post
Try using the command prompt in the recovery options and do "bootrec /fixmbr" and then "bootrec /fixboot" (Without the quotes, of course). That's how I fixed my MBR for Vista when I had GRUB, so I'm pretty sure it'll work.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2009, 07:44 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,814

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
What do you mean "in the recovery options"?
I'm guessing he means to use the Recovery Console/Command Prompt or whatever it's called in Windows 7's installer.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 12:35 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

Cant access that if it is under the repair subscreens..
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 12:44 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
Cant access that if it is under the repair subscreens..
Put the Vista CD/DVD in, and boot from it.

Once you get to the "Install Windows 7" screen, there's a button that says "repair my computer", click it. It will bring you to a menu asking you to select the correct install of Vista you want to repair, if you have more than one ensure you choose the correct one. It will now bring you to a menu listed multiple options. You can either use the "Startup Repair Wizard" which is usually pretty good at fixing things OR do it manually by opening the command prompt and using the commands posted above.
Vista Tip: Repair "BOOTMGR is missing" error

Its works the same with Vista in case anyone's wondering.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!

Last edited by Chilly; March 17, 2009 at 12:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 03:32 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,442
Default

Yes, Ive done a repair install 100 times before. Point is when I go to repair computer it says some error message about it has already been repaired and puts me back to the install screen. I will post a SS so you see what I mean.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GA-EP45-DQ6 MB will not boot to windows lizard Troubleshooting 7 February 1, 2009 10:45 PM
Windows XP endless boot loop Wolfx25 Troubleshooting 13 December 29, 2008 10:03 AM
Help NEED A BOOT CD IN THE DRIVE TO START WINDOWS!!!! Madeinedmundston Troubleshooting 12 December 5, 2008 02:39 PM
No boot after Windows update. Pilot_dc O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 May 19, 2008 01:00 PM
AAARGH, can't boot into windows AGAIN, different PC!!! donimo Troubleshooting 16 January 28, 2008 09:08 AM