Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2009, 11:36 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default Windows 7 Questions.

Presently I'm running XP Pro and Vista Premium x64 via dual boot. Each OS is located on it's own partition on a 500GB drive, I also have a 1TB storage drive with no OS. I've downloaded the Windows 7 beta and I want to give it a whirl. Can I tri boot? Or am I really asking for trouble? If I do put this on my storage drive, will it have to be formatted? I'm pretty sure it's setup to be a basic drive with NTFS. Backing up the 437GB of data on it to my Atom is a rather slow process as it only has 10/100 LAN.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2009, 12:23 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

To answer your questions, if you already have vista installed then there is no way installing Windows 7 will break your boot loader, so there is no danger of tri booting in that sense. A Tri-Boot should work flawlessly.

As for installing it onto your storage drive, go ahead! You don't need to format or do anything special for that matter, as long as there is not an OS installed on the storage drive, and its NTFS, you should be good to go!
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2009, 12:24 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,896

My System Specs

Default

Should be fine, Windows 7 uses the same bootloader as Vista so you'll just have yet another option.

Personally I'd partition your storage drive, or maybe the drive XP or Vista is on, rather than trying to install it onto a NTFS partition with all your data on it already. Sounds like your asking for trouble in doing that.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2009, 01:32 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
Should be fine, Windows 7 uses the same bootloader as Vista so you'll just have yet another option.
Yep!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
Personally I'd partition your storage drive, or maybe the drive XP or Vista is on, rather than trying to install it onto a NTFS partition with all your data on it already. Sounds like your asking for trouble in doing that.
Resizing an *exisiting* parition with data already on it is WAY more risky than simply installing an OS onto said drive/partition. The OS install won't touch the data in any way shape or form, his data is safe.

Just be careful not to select the "format" or "delete parition" option.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 03:21 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

7 up and kinda running. The cat's from MS won't install so I'm trying ATi's, and of course I had to go hunting for my drivers for the Xfi too.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 03:41 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,353

My System Specs

Default

Thats why I like Virtual boot or Virtual machine I usually test OS in VM and install what ever software I would normally use and just use the virtual OS until I am confident it will run they way I want it to . I still am not to confident with win 7 , it is allot better then Vista but it still has issues running some online games keep getting Kicked by Punk buster when I am using Win 7
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2009, 04:38 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,896

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilly View Post
Resizing an *exisiting* parition with data already on it is WAY more risky than simply installing an OS onto said drive/partition. The OS install won't touch the data in any way shape or form, his data is safe.
Just for the record, I've used Acronis Disk Director numerous times to resize my current OS drive to allow for another OS install without any data loss.

I try to keep my hard drives rather organized so I wouldn't want Windows shoving all it's files onto a drive with my data. That would just ruin my organization
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2009, 10:16 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Hmm, only rated a 6.3 in 3D Graphics with a HD 4870 X2...
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2009, 10:56 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

My gtx 260 rated 7.9
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions on my new rig. xile042 New Builds 5 December 11, 2008 09:20 AM
PSU for SLI Questions. Milt Power Supplies 9 July 2, 2008 03:20 PM
Few questions AnthraxAdrian CPU's and Motherboards 2 April 13, 2008 07:08 PM
Some questions about F@H qwerty HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 October 16, 2007 06:45 PM
some questions about the pc... omgwtf CPU's and Motherboards 17 August 17, 2007 09:44 PM