Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 08:50 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 65
Default Trouble with IIS v5.1 on XP PRO

I install XP PRO, log in as Administrator, install IIS v5.1 from the XP CD. Afterward I try to access the webpage with this URL: http://localhost

It will display a screen asking for username and password..I try enter my login name but it give me this error:
You are not authorized to view this page

HTTP 401.1 - Unauthorized: Logon Failed

The 'Default Web Site' Properties as follow:

Tab 'Web Site' = IP Address: (All Unassigned), TCP Port: 80
Tab 'Directory Security', in 'Anonymous access and authentication control', checked for 'Anonymous access', Username: IUSR_<pc name>, checked for 'Allow IIS to control password'. The part for 'Basic authentication' and 'Integrated Windows authentication' is unchecked.

How can I make it so when I go the localhost webpage and it just show me the page, without asking me for username and password? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 09:15 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Personally IIS is more of pita to learn or figure out.

Try install XAMPP which uses Apache and is 100x easier.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 10:36 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,951

My System Specs

Default

Yeah don't use IIS. Just a waste of time IMO. And probably not overly secure either.

XAMPP comes with MySQL, PHPMyAdmin, and PHP5. Also comes with FireFTP server as well. Great package to get any kind of website you want hosted.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2009, 01:05 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 65
Default

Thanks for the reply..I just need IIS because installing an VoIP server software that need it...I just gonna forget about it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 17, 2009, 07:42 PM
486's Avatar
486 486 is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 398

My System Specs

Default

Do not listen to them, IIS is not tough and quite managable. Once you installed IIS, you have to setup your default website (your http://localhost) and set securilty on it. Simply allow for anonymous access (it will show you the account used for anonymous access). You need to create default.htm page. If you still experience any trouble accessing it, elevate permissions for the account used.
__________________
Silverstone TJ-08E
Seasonic X-660
Asus P8Z77-M Pro
Intel i7-3770
Kingstone HyperX 2 x 8GB
Crucial M4 256GB + 128 GB
Sapphire Radeon HD7970
Nec Multisync LCD2690WUXI
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dvd trouble part 2 t0m Storage 16 March 11, 2009 06:42 PM
annoying gta 4 trouble!!! shayan288 Gaming 13 February 23, 2009 11:27 AM
Steam trouble. Zippoh Gaming 6 December 31, 2008 08:04 PM
Icon Trouble!!! shayan288 Gaming 7 November 9, 2008 06:16 PM
PS3 wi-fi trouble ebdoradz Networking 8 December 8, 2007 06:12 PM