Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 04:13 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zlojack View Post
Funny, I just logged on to hit this thread up.

Looks like Dad has been clicking links at random and his machine is not doing so well.

He's been on an old, broken down version of Norton.

I'm probably going to have to go over and do some cleaning up.

What should I install for him that would be pretty easy, low on resources (his rig is OLD) and preferably free?

if and when you do uninstall Norton make sure you get the proper Norton clean up tools for the older versions.
You use it after the add remove uninstall.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9


Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 04:31 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
I switched to Avira since AVG8 became a hog with broken updates. Pretty good.

Yeah I too have dropped AVG, its too prone to false positives and now with the added PITA factor just makes others out there better options.

Zoljack I too recommend Avira....with Malwarebytes and SAS free editions to cover malware and adware ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 05:00 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
I switched to Avira since AVG8 became a hog with broken updates. Pretty good.
and yet.....I disagree. It only uses 8MB of ram and runs quite fast. Updates for me are painless.

Have you checked your ports and whatnot?

Last edited by Digikid; March 19, 2009 at 05:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 05:11 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Well don't. You are not obligated. But when I looked at all my 7 rigs which had AVG installed, and all averaged 28Mb usage + add to the fact that AVG had (still has?) issues with broken updates, the decision to drop was quickly made.

edit: forgot to add - a customer came in with "issues" on is rig. STD installation for me was AVG, Spybot, Anti-Malware in Safe Mode. AVG found 1 virus in a 2 hour-long session.

That same week I decided to use Avira for the first time, and installed it after AVG found that virus. Avira found 6 more.

Case closed.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 05:18 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,729
Default

and it was all updated?

hmm....bad mood I see. LOL!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 05:23 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digikid View Post
I would advise you Norton users to uninstall that crud immediately. It is a HUGE resource hog and does not detect a lot of viruses at all.
its now old news... new norton 2009 is hugely improving compare to crappy previous versions...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 05:25 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digikid View Post
and it was all updated?

hmm....bad mood I see. LOL!!!!
Why did you edit your reply (while I was replying) and deleted the other, anyway... no, I'm not in a bad mood.

Of course it was all updated.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 05:45 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

I'm switching from AVG to Avast. AVG 8.0 is junk now. Broken updates, update servers down, and false postitives, and the ignore button does nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 05:50 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,729
Default

hmmm....well I guess that I will give it a try then and see what it is like.

Sry Charlie...when you said Case Closed people in my experience only say that when they are in a bad mood. No offense meant. My apologies.

I edited my post because I thought that maybe I was going overboard...lets leave it as that. LOL!!!!

What is the link to Avira?

EDIT: Avast or Avira.....hmmm......
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 05:55 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

No problem. I meant case closed as in my decision was taken when Avira found 6 more viruses. Not case closed to the discussion.

I haven't tried Avast.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Anti-virus do you use Forge O/S's, Drivers & General Software 78 August 22, 2008 05:39 PM
Anti Static Devices? tgraszat14 Troubleshooting 18 February 6, 2008 06:14 PM
Kaspersky Anti-Virus 7.0 - $15 @ Futureshop (Today only) Jmac O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 December 20, 2007 08:45 PM
My Favourite Anti Malware Tools clickright O/S's, Drivers & General Software 7 May 13, 2007 05:59 PM
eTrust Anti-Virus any good? Gav O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 March 19, 2007 09:41 PM