Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2009, 07:37 AM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
Isn't 7 going EOL / "no more updates...this time we REALLY mean it!!" April 30 of this year?
It could be, I haven't seen anything to that effect but wasn't really looking either. Took a quick look at their site and didn't see any notice...

btw, For those with older systems it works really well, I had no problems with my PIII running 98SE...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2009, 09:56 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Barrie, ON
Posts: 56
Default

The only anti virus I run is Avast. It is free for home use but needs to be paid for in a Corporate environment. It has an On Access scanner and everything. Its worth checking out.

avast! - Download antivirus software for spyware and virus protection
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2009, 10:01 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

I find anti virus software to be the biggest waste of time/money/cpu resource.. I've been running strong for over 10 years with no viruses EVER. If I've had any, they havent been severe, or noticeable. One of my laptops came preloaded with Norton and it was ridiculous. The thing ran so damn slow, I removed it right away and its been running top notch ever since. IMO its a waste. *unless you're an insane porn addict, or love those cheesy online java games*
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2009, 10:40 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by element291 View Post
I find anti virus software to be the biggest waste of time/money/cpu resource.. I've been running strong for over 10 years with no viruses EVER. If I've had any, they havent been severe, or noticeable. One of my laptops came preloaded with Norton and it was ridiculous. The thing ran so damn slow, I removed it right away and its been running top notch ever since. IMO its a waste. *unless you're an insane porn addict, or love those cheesy online java games*
Agreed, it is of my personal opinion that if you know what you are doing, use trustworthy sites, and have a bit of prudence(for the odd cases when trustworthy sites go rouge, phishing, etc) you shall never become infected.

That being said, I shall *knock on wood*
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2009, 11:48 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

I run Kaspersky, it's fantastic. I don't run any Malware protection; maybe I should?! /shrug
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2009, 04:25 PM
Toronto122's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 238
Default

nope, no anti virus. I know what I'm doing with emails and downloads.

As for Spyware, I just run Spybot once in a while, and it finds the usual, no big deal, just tracking cookies.

I just couldn't be bothered with something running in the background of my computer using up tons of resources for nothing. I've never had a virus (touch wood), and hopefully smart surfing will keep me from having one.

Hell, I don't even run a firewall!! LOL So, if you want to get into my files, feel free, they're all yours!
__________________
NZXT Rogue Cube Case
Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 w/Scythe Mugen 2
6 gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz low latency
Asus Rampage II GENE Motherboard
2 x Asus GTX 285 in SLI (710/1617/2700)
1 x 1tb WD Black
3 x WD 640AAKS in RAID 0
Enermax 85-1050 PSU
HP 30" 2560x1600, G19, G7, M-Audio Q40 Headset

Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2009, 04:29 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,729
Default

I use only the best. AVG Free Edition 8 does both Spyware AND viral detection and management.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2009, 04:46 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Kaspersky because it's good, fairly unbloated and only $25 for three licences when it's on sale
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2009, 04:46 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,553

My System Specs

Default

I have only ran into one issue, ever, since practicing safe computer habits .

I travel a bit, and bring my laptop. Because of this, I put a copy of Symantec Corp (Free thru work) on my Lappy (My home PC doesnt have any AV). When hooking up to a open network at a hotel my Symantec immediately started going haywire. I guess there was a PC(s) that were infected that were bombarding any other PC on the network, similar to that Blaster Virus of ~7 years ago with XP...I dont remember the Virus name, but I didnt get it :)

Thats the one and only time I was glad to have Antivirus, and also the exact reason its only on my laptop. But, if its good enough for the IT guys at my work, its good enough for me.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old March 18, 2009, 04:58 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Default

Ues Avast here
used to be AVG......but when they changed versions went to Avast.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Anti-virus do you use Forge O/S's, Drivers & General Software 78 August 22, 2008 06:39 PM
Anti Static Devices? tgraszat14 Troubleshooting 18 February 6, 2008 07:14 PM
Kaspersky Anti-Virus 7.0 - $15 @ Futureshop (Today only) Jmac O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 December 20, 2007 09:45 PM
My Favourite Anti Malware Tools clickright O/S's, Drivers & General Software 7 May 13, 2007 06:59 PM
eTrust Anti-Virus any good? Gav O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 March 19, 2007 10:41 PM