Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #101 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2010, 05:26 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m1dget View Post
Then you are not talking about OS limitations but hardware virtualization... which makes little sense. You could easily run about any OS in vmware, virtualbox or any type 2 hypervisors for virt and have the some kind of 'sandbox'. I wouldn't see why *nix wouldn't be able to DL crap you want without your main OS suffering the aftermath. With freebsd if you have the knowledge and about 2 minutes of your time you could have a jail (as in freebsd jail not chroot jails) up and be 'safer'.
Sorry dude, but a walled garden is a walled garden. Just because you think running it inside *nix is "safer" dont make it so in reality. What I was saying (while poking fun at you) was that peeps don't have to go the Linux route and lose software compatibility to be safe.

Linuix is getting there, but its still far from being perfect for most avg joes. Also Linux is more secure right now because it is not worth Criminal hackers / malware authors/etc time to look and write exploits for *nix. IF any *Nix variation had 85% market share you can be sure there would be exploits for it. In other words it may be a beefier base...but its main security is "security through obscurity".

Hell even easier is Sandboxie! I can easily surf the intrawebz using IE6 on XP w/ out getting any crap by simply using that free little program that is easy and safe. makes a walled garden on the fly around any application. No hassle, no fuss no muss... And when I'm done I can then open a word attachment, edit a photo in photoshop or do any of the million other tasks that really do require Windows. And NO, open source "equivalents" are far, FAR from equivalent. Linux apps are great in some ways, I like Firefox and thunderbird, but many are still not ready for prime time.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr

Last edited by AkG; February 18, 2010 at 05:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #102 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2010, 03:18 PM
CraigRT's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: London, ON
Posts: 55
Default

Router firewall only. Now and again I'll run a trendmicro housecall or something to see if there's any shyte on there.

Usually finds some little crap, (they always seem to no matter what you do) nothing major.
__________________
i7 860 + Hyper 212
P55A-UD4P F14
8GB Mushkin Silverline
Powercolor 5870
Velociraptor 150
Seagate LP 2TB
Corsair AX750
Silverstone FT01B-W (HWC review case)

HEATWARE 45-0-0

My Cannondale <3
Reply With Quote
  #103 (permalink)  
Old February 18, 2010, 10:52 PM
r0bc's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AB
Posts: 688

My System Specs

Default

I was using AVG before it went to crap. Now I just use Microsoft Security Essentials, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware and Ad Aware but I'm going give Super Anti-Spyware a try.
I've never had a virus but I know people that still get them constantly , not sure what the hell there doing exactly.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #104 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 12:56 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

Using Shaw Secure. The newer version uses about half the processes of the old version so it's lighter on the system. Shaw Secure = F secure. I used to use Kaspersky, which was fantastic, but I was using the "free" version so I couldn't update and get latest definitions. I've only had an issue with shaw secure not allowing me to open Daemon Tools, but I just had to add a rule and also had a problem with it allowing me to connect to Bnet on Starcraft, so I just have to unload it before I play. But if you don;t play Starcraft 1 you're all good ;) Oh and I use Malware Bytes on occassion as well.
Reply With Quote
  #105 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 12:57 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

Using Shaw Secure. The newer version uses about half the processes of the old version so it's lighter on the system. Shaw Secure = F secure. I used to use Kaspersky, which was fantastic, but I was using the "free" version so I couldn't update and get latest definitions. I've only had an issue with shaw secure not allowing me to open Daemon Tools, but I just had to add a rule and also had a problem with it allowing me to connect to Bnet on Starcraft, so I just have to unload it before I play. But if you don;t play Starcraft 1 you're all good ;) Oh and I use Malware Bytes on occassion as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by r0bc View Post
I've never had a virus but I know people that still get them constantly , not sure what the hell there doing exactly.
Oh and.... Pr0n
Reply With Quote
  #106 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 05:55 PM
no_pulse's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 389
Default

Back in 2000 I used Norton Enterprise Edition. The pharmaceutical corp I used to be a Network Admin for used it, so I figured it was good :P I was young an dumb :P Then I switched to AVG. Now I use Avira Premium and haven't looked back. I've never had a virus on my system since using Avira *knock on wood*
__________________
Originally Posted by kruzn4evr:

"The peppers fired a warning shot. Some were so loud and echoing that I was later told a few folks in
other aisles had ducked, fearing that someone was robbing the store and firing off a shotgun."
Reply With Quote
  #107 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 06:35 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 950

My System Specs

Default

Dont use anything on any of the 6 pcs here, kids included in that number and our systems dont get anything on them ever really. What I dont get is those who get nailed with malware non stop, I troll through the worst crap you can imagine hunting for software and 99% of the time never get any problems.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #108 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2010, 06:50 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,763

My System Specs

Default

I use the free Avast, never had a problem, due to not being lacking of common sense. AKA I don't click on shady links for free naked peoples and then download "Windows Antivirus 2010 Awesome Edition".
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #109 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2010, 01:06 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Milton, ON
Posts: 83
Default

I hear bit defender is good on the reviews ive read.
Reply With Quote
  #110 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2010, 04:29 PM
Full Speed's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mount Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 811

My System Specs

Default

I use Microsoft Security Essentials on my laptop and the free Avast on my desktop. I still got AVG on my other desktop because I'm lazy, but I haven't really liked AVG since version 8 came out.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Anti-virus do you use Forge O/S's, Drivers & General Software 78 August 22, 2008 05:39 PM
Anti Static Devices? tgraszat14 Troubleshooting 18 February 6, 2008 06:14 PM
Kaspersky Anti-Virus 7.0 - $15 @ Futureshop (Today only) Jmac O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 December 20, 2007 08:45 PM
My Favourite Anti Malware Tools clickright O/S's, Drivers & General Software 7 May 13, 2007 05:59 PM
eTrust Anti-Virus any good? Gav O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 March 19, 2007 09:41 PM