Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2009, 04:30 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,308

My System Specs

Default

is this what you have exactly?[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Explorer]
"MaximizeApps"=dword:1

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Explorer]
"MaximizeApps"=dword:1
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2009, 04:49 PM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
is this what you have exactly?[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Explorer]
"MaximizeApps"=dword:1

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Explorer]
"MaximizeApps"=dword:1
No, there isn't a space in mine..... I have no idea where that came from ( I just copied and pasted it from the reg file)
I also have no idea why your post shows up as the first post in this thread... Wierdness
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2009, 11:10 PM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default Help with .reg file

So I found a registry tweek that seems to have cured the god awfull anoying windows explorer windows not opening maximized and I've been trying to automate adding the key and haven't been successful.
here's what I'm trying to do

Go to this Key

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Explorer

Add a new DWORD value named “MaximizeApps”

Set the value to 1


I made a .reg file containing this

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Explorer]
“MaximizeApps”=dword:00000001

When I run it, I get the message saying the key has been added, but it isn't there!
any ideas where I'm going wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2009, 11:13 PM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

Never mind! I found what I needed by doing a google search!

here's what's needed

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Explorer]
"MaximizeApps"=dword:1

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Explorer]
"MaximizeApps"=dword:1



BTW, it works! (so far)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2009, 10:41 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,308

My System Specs

Default

wow that is weird how did my post turn into the first post lol
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2009, 05:04 PM
3 of 7's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nanaimo BC
Posts: 919
Default

I think the forums clock was screwed for a bit.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
file transferring shayan288 Storage 12 January 9, 2009 08:33 PM
How do you create a raw soud file? coldroll O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 December 11, 2008 10:05 AM
Pentium 4 file server Mr. Gruntsworthy New Builds 6 October 17, 2008 05:07 AM
Building a file server kdub New Builds 10 September 27, 2008 11:04 AM
File sharing over two Vistas? How? mrlie3 Networking 2 June 3, 2008 07:31 PM