Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2007, 05:27 AM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,912
Default Windows xp error, as usual

I have a problem with Windows Xp..grr
I have installed Nod32 the latest version, Stopzilla, Regcure and Advanced WIndows optimizer (all updated) and scanned in safe mode with them.
When I enter the windows after dunno 30 minutes, pop-ups just appear from nowhere, and an error appears something like Couldn't load the specified module C:\Windows\dsidaisji.dll I was planning on going with ubuntu but I still play on the pc..
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2007, 06:03 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Do you mean pop-ups with errors on them, or like advertisement pop-ups?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2007, 02:13 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Check your msconfig (Run-> msconfig) and check to see if anything with the same path and name as that dll are in the startup list. On computers ive repaired and removed viruses/adware from they often leave little "spawners" of popups and even when you remove the main virus/adware program, the spawner has to be removed by hand from the system AND the windows startup routine. Lemme know if that works or if not what else is happening as i have many years of computer technical support/repairs/builds.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2007, 05:20 AM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,912
Default

I disabled that thing from msconfig, but I still recieve ad-aware pop ups with advertisment and stuff like that.
I'll do another scan in safe mode..
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2007, 06:19 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,261

My System Specs

Default

Have you ran Hijack this?
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2007, 08:31 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
Have you ran Hijack this?
Another good idea, hijack this will remove any pop-up programs that have installed themselves into your browser (ex. a google seach bar, just not as helpful, lol). Be careful though, because hijack this cant cause more harm than good if you delete the wrong things.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2007, 06:50 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,912
Default

still get advertising stuff, yes, I did run hijack this, and I also scanned with Nod32, Stopzilla, Regcure and other...+ online scan with symantec..
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2007, 06:58 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Can i get some screenshots of one of more of the popups and your msconfig startup programs?
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2007, 07:09 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,912
Default

Here you go, the list of programs that run on startup, since I've scanned I haven't received another pop-up but If I do I'll do a screenshot.
I recall that I received something about regcure coupons and losing weight or smth..
Name:  untitled.jpg
Views: 155
Size:  148.3 KB
Name:  part2.jpg
Views: 156
Size:  151.8 KB
__________________
Memento mori

Last edited by omgwtf; May 30, 2007 at 07:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2007, 07:18 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Cant see much from that screenshot (and the second one doesnt work) but always be carefull of and rundll32 in your system startup, make Sure you know what it is and why its there...
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista error biff Troubleshooting 3 March 2, 2008 07:46 AM
Prime 95 Error RogerzRig Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 52 February 20, 2008 10:03 PM
Pricing Error?? oldbetang RAM 37 February 14, 2008 11:41 PM
Display error Jim Video Cards 3 February 8, 2008 06:45 AM
Configuratoin Error? DSNB O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 October 28, 2007 06:51 PM