Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2009, 11:54 PM
DRYJESUS's Avatar
Restricted Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 74
Default Boot Problem

Hi,

I have been using Vista 64 bit, but I wanted to try Windows 7 Beta. So I installed the Beta 64 Bit on a different partition, just to try first, and I loved it! My partitions looked like this:

100GB: Vista
100GB: Windows 7
300GB: Data

I was ready to use this as my main OS. So I deleted my Windows Vista Partition after backing up, and now I can't boot into Windows 7. Now my partitions look like this:

100GB: Windows 7
400GB: Data

This obviously has something to do with deleting my Vista partition as it was working before. If anyone could help me ASAP, that would be great, as I need my computer for schoolwork.


Edit: Please don't rant to me about why I'm using the beta as my main OS. I don't know, I'm just like that.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2009, 01:01 AM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

If you burned the beta to a disc, it might be like Vista where you can load it up and repair the MBR. I'm not sure, but I guess it's worth a shot.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2009, 04:08 PM
DRYJESUS's Avatar
Restricted Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 74
Default

nope, i've already tried repairing, but thanks for the suggestion!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2009, 04:12 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,529

My System Specs

Default

Have you tried re-installing Vista 64bit? I'd guess that your boot manager was on the partition that got deleted... maybe if you put vista back on it'll recognise windows 7 as another version of itself and create a dual boot?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2009, 04:13 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 135
Default

Load the recovery console from the disk. (Under repair if it's like Vista.) and try running the commands bootrec \fixmbr and bootrec \fixboot
The automatic repair didn't work properly if it's like vista.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2009, 04:39 PM
DRYJESUS's Avatar
Restricted Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 74
Default

okay, i'll try that right now
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2009, 04:43 PM
DRYJESUS's Avatar
Restricted Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt View Post
Load the recovery console from the disk. (Under repair if it's like Vista.) and try running the commands bootrec \fixmbr and bootrec \fixboot
The automatic repair didn't work properly if it's like vista.
After the command bootrec \fixmbr, it was successful, but after bootrec /fixboot,
it gave me "Element not found"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2009, 04:58 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

try this if you don't have a Vista boot disk Windows Vista Recovery Disc Download — The NeoSmart Files
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2009, 05:05 PM
DRYJESUS's Avatar
Restricted Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
try this if you don't have a Vista boot disk Windows Vista Recovery Disc Download — The NeoSmart Files


okay, i'm downloading right now, 10 minutes to go


edit: what does this do? it just looks like a normal vista disk

Last edited by DRYJESUS; January 21, 2009 at 05:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Boot settings (Bootsect.bak/Boot directory) installed to another HDD? chouchou Troubleshooting 7 December 21, 2008 07:46 PM
won't boot up Jhayman Troubleshooting 0 December 6, 2007 10:41 AM
cant boot into XP magictorch Troubleshooting 2 November 17, 2007 02:42 PM
Post or Boot? Preemptive RAM problem magictorch Troubleshooting 2 November 11, 2007 07:30 PM
No way to boot sciwhiz Troubleshooting 13 October 27, 2007 05:41 PM