Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2009, 07:02 AM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default Restoring files?

Hi all. I need help! my dad is very computer challenged, and today he some how wrote over his 2008 work file. It contains all of his invoices and everything. Its in quattro pro, which is a spreadsheet. And he never backed it up. Is there anyway to see or get the old part back? Its going to take him days to redo.
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2009, 07:20 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but.... If he wrote OVER it, chances are there's nothing you can do.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2009, 07:47 AM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default

Bah. I thought so, but I was hoping
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2009, 08:22 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,401

My System Specs

Default

I have never actually tried it but if he has Vista you can try possibly the shadow copy thingy (right click on the file and I believe it says "Previous Versions" there somewhere. Something to consider.

If he had simply deleted it then there are various file recovery programs available to try...I have used Bad Copy Pro, and "Recover My Files" to successfully fix corrupted files and to retrieve deleted files.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2009, 04:21 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

I haven't used Quattro in a VERY long time but as I recall it made it's own backup's automatically as you worked so that there was always the last copy available for restore. I for get if they used a ~ in the extension on bkp/bak now. As I said it was quite some tije ago but you might check in both the working directory adn Quattro's own directories and see if a backup might be there.
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 16, 2009, 07:50 AM
bushwhacker's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lake of the Woods
Posts: 286
Default

In Corel QuattroPro:
  • Open QuattroPro, and then click on “Edit” and then “Preferences”. Click on the “File Options” tab. Check that “Timed Document Backup Every” has a check mark in the box in front of it, and a time value in the “minutes” window. If you want QuattroPro to use a different default directory, you can type the full path in the “Directory” window, however, QuattroPro uses the last-used directory as the default directory, so your preference may not stick.
check this to see what preferences your Dad has set and where the backups may be
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2009, 12:14 PM
Cranky's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Windsor Ontario
Posts: 149
Default

If you can't find them in the default backup file, there are data recovery services, that is, if your dad's information is important enough to warrant the cost to have it recovered.
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe / Intel Core2Quad Q9550@8x425@3400mhz(1.225v) / Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro / 4Gigs DDR2 1066mhz(5-5-5-15) Corsair Dominator / Diamond HD4870x2 / Asus Xonar / WD Raptor 74gb / Hitachi 160GB / Antec Quattro 850w / Logitech Z-680 5.1 / Dell Ultrasharp 24" / 2 LG Optical Drives / Vista Ultimate 32bit / A tower that's been drilled, cut, and bent to fit all of my fans
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
swapping files from one system to another ???? WolfBane Guides & How-to's 11 November 5, 2008 09:35 AM
Manually load files into RAM? Thund3rball RAM 6 February 4, 2008 11:52 AM
Widescreen and avi files? bobaban Display Units 0 November 23, 2007 03:06 PM
Sharing files and folders mcgirkz Troubleshooting 0 September 13, 2007 12:22 AM
EU files antitrust charges against Intel @ CBC sswilson Press Releases & Tech News 1 July 28, 2007 09:18 PM