Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 11:24 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 748

My System Specs

Default Easiest way to image a drive.

I'm looking for a fool proof way to re-image a drive.

Something simple that the image would all fit on a 16gb USB key and you can boot from it to recover style of simple.

It's for my dad that... errr... browses websites and clicks on stuff sometimes he may not be supposed to. That's his story and he's sticking to it

I have a HD I keep my images on and carry to his place to re-image it once in a whole when it's fubared but i'd like to have him do it himself from now on. This is why I need it simple.

Thanks.
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 06:13 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default

Lots of good choices - If you are running Vista Ultimate , the built-in Windows Backup Image is fantastic. Others you can try - Acronis Disk Image or Norton Ghost. The size of the image will depend on the size of the disk that you are trying to image.
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2009, 02:16 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Default

i've used norton ghost in the past, and its great
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2009, 02:22 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Acronis disk image, life saver.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2009, 01:29 PM
sam101p5's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 97
Default

+1 for Acronis --- I actually created a bootable image of my XP drive with that program a couple years ago so I could keep my main drive safe after a 'family' tinkering weekend. The only program that failed to work on the new image was Norton system works/anti-virus, but I didn't care because I knew my relative was going to wipe it out anyway while I was sleeping -- and he did.

Last edited by sam101p5; January 20, 2009 at 01:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2009, 01:39 PM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

I don't think windows backup has compression even the vista version.
Acronis is very good.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2009, 01:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Default

+2 for Acronis...




-1 for Ghost
__________________
Intel C2D E8400 (SLB9J - Q829A202) @ 8.5x533 1.3625vcore
Interl C2Q Q6600 (SLACR - L823B214) @ 9x400 1.3265vcore
Asus P5Q Pro
Corsair TWIN2X4096-8500C5D
TRUE 120 + 2x Scythe SFF21F
ATI Radeon HD 4850 @ 775/1200
Dell S2409W 24" 1080p Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2009, 02:18 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,501

My System Specs

Default

Ghost 14.0 has worked flawlessly for me.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No image on screen SuperFriedFish Troubleshooting 9 September 7, 2008 10:37 AM
XP Pro on New Rig - Install or Image? misterlarry O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 April 16, 2008 10:18 PM
Bootable image... omgwtf O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 June 10, 2007 09:00 AM