Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2009, 06:30 PM
squilliam's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 83
Default

I currently use ff 3 and love it, but i'll give chrome a shot

what's this about chrome not working with plugins though? It seems typical, after all, chrome IS only a beta
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2009, 04:20 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

I've officially switched to Chrome, and browsing HWC is a lot faster.

The only downside is that there isn't adblock plus for it yet, and that is the only reason I use firefox anyways, because it feels so bloated now, after the newest updates.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2009, 06:53 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,382

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp View Post
Heh,

Still a big fan of Firefox but I've slowly moved over to Chrome, I really like it. In fact I honestly didn't think the day would come that I'd leave Firefox; it's here.

The last version or so of Firefox has REALLY slowed down it's surfing; at least it seemed like that to me. I was also having issues when browsing heavy flash sites etc.

Anyways, I love the look of chrome and the way it works is similar to Firefox; I've had it set up for awhile but havn't really used it solely, but today - I uninstalled Firefox. :)
the thing about Chrome is that it isn't very secure in that it is Google and Google letsd everyone that has any money get info that in itself makes it so I will never use it but I do use SRW IRON which is almost Identical to Chrome but it is allot more secure . another Browser I really like is Lunascape 5 two reasons why I don't use it as my regular browsers is because one it isn't portable and the second and this one bugs me allot , is that I cannot open new links in a new tab with my Middle mouse button.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2009, 08:46 PM
Brian's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London Ontario
Posts: 323
Default

I sort of left FireFox when FF3 came out. I still prefer 2 and well I've been using the dreaded IE ....dun dun dun. That's how much I dislike FF3.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2009, 09:42 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

My problem was 3 just started to work even less on websites; even now when I use it from time to time there are websites I just can't get it to load. Even IE loads them!
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old January 4, 2009, 10:26 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

Most websites that IE loads and FF doesn't are designed specifically for IE and use scripting methods designed specifically for IE and some of their proprietary functions.

I've had no real problems with FF at all.

Chrome is not yet mature enough for my taste as a regular browser, either from a privacy or security standpoint.
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2009, 07:23 AM
Cranky's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Windsor Ontario
Posts: 149
Default

I'm sure Chrome has some good points but it's not mature enough yet for me to try it. With FF being so customizable, and having some pretty good security features there isn't any reason for me to try anything else.
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe / Intel Core2Quad Q9550@8x425@3400mhz(1.225v) / Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro / 4Gigs DDR2 1066mhz(5-5-5-15) Corsair Dominator / Diamond HD4870x2 / Asus Xonar / WD Raptor 74gb / Hitachi 160GB / Antec Quattro 850w / Logitech Z-680 5.1 / Dell Ultrasharp 24" / 2 LG Optical Drives / Vista Ultimate 32bit / A tower that's been drilled, cut, and bent to fit all of my fans
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2009, 10:20 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Edmonton AB
Posts: 50
Default

I did try Chrome the other day, then quickly switched back to Firefox, although in the long run, as long as they don't bloat it, I can see myself going back to Chrome, some of the features were great
__________________
Intel Q6600 Asus Striker II Formula
OCZ Reaper PC-8500 EVGA GTX 295
Western Digital Velociraptor Samsung 2493 HM
Watercooled CPU & GPU Saitek Eclipse II
Logitech G5
Windows Vista Ultimate 64 Bit
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old January 5, 2009, 03:58 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,382

My System Specs

Default

there is one thing ,so far, that I wished this browser ( SRW IRON a Chromium like browser) had that I can get on FF and that is foxmarks for my bookmarks
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2009, 09:57 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 38
Default

As PC's get faster I find myself switching between IE and Firefox. I do like what Chrome has done with tabs running their own thread. Hopefully this gets adopted by all browsers.

Seriously though, the Internet is at a stage that as long as it works, it doesn't matter what browser you use. The only thing that matters is security. And for me, that is IE or Firefox. I'll use whichever doesn't have an active security hole at said time.
__________________
__________________
CPU: E8600 (3.33 GHz)
MOTHERBOARD: ASUS Maximus Extreme
VIDEO:
ASUS Radeon 4870X2 (2 x 750 MHz, 2 x 1GB DDR5)
MEMORY: 8GB RAM (4 x 2 GB DDR3-1333MHz 7-7-7-20)
DISK: Seagate Barracuda 1TB (2 x 500GB)
WATER COOLING: Tt Bigwater 780e for CPU
WATER COOLING: Tt Bigwater 760i for GPU
WATER BLOCK CPU: Tt LGA775 Copper Block (3/8" fittings)
WATER BLOCK GPU: Danger Den 4870X2 Copper Block (1/2" fittings)
WATER BLOCK CHIPSET: ASUS Onboard Copper Block
OS: VISTA 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
my "Aliant Sucks!" thread Babrbarossa Off Topic 29 March 29, 2008 08:26 AM
donimo's "forget e2180's, e6750's are where it's at" thread donimo Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 33 January 21, 2008 09:55 PM
Comment thread for the "Asrock 4CoreDual-VSTA" review sswilson CPU's and Motherboards 16 December 18, 2007 08:04 PM
The "How well do you know the person above you" Thread. Moneyless Off Topic 17 August 23, 2007 10:23 PM
another "New System" thread Unklmo CPU's and Motherboards 20 June 15, 2007 07:39 PM