Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2008, 12:42 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Don't bother asking this question as you'll never get a precise answer from anyone and will always have a heated debate.

Myself I don't see any reason to run Vista as it doesn't give you any benefit over Windows XP despite what others will say and no if you only have 4gb of ram you don't need a 64bit OS a 32bit OS will work just fine.

IMHO Superfetch and DX10 is a marketing gimmick and if your computer is fast enough whether you have superfetch or not things will load fast.
i would agree with this. Basically if you plan on have 3gb or less of ram then installxp if you want 4+GB of ram go with 64 bit vista.

Or dual boot :D
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2008, 12:53 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Don't bother asking this question as you'll never get a precise answer from anyone and will always have a heated debate.

Myself I don't see any reason to run Vista as it doesn't give you any benefit over Windows XP despite what others will say and no if you only have 4gb of ram you don't need a 64bit OS a 32bit OS will work just fine.

IMHO Superfetch and DX10 is a marketing gimmick and if your computer is fast enough whether you have superfetch or not things will load fast.
Oh, no doubt that DX10 and "Games for Windows" is a marketing gimmick, they need something to bring people to Vista by saying all these games will only work with Vista. Hell, people got Halo 2 to work with XP, and people have been working on wrappers to get DX10 to work in XP. Its a shame MS doesn't want to release a XP version but I guess whatever it takes to get sales of a slumping product up.

XP or Vista, both are generally the same...if you dont care about "Games for Windows" titles. If you do, and you're really wanting to play these...might as well buy Vista
__________________
CM690 - Asus P5Q-E - Intel E8400(E0) @ 3.6 - OCZ GameXStream 700W - Swiftech Apogee GT (Bowed) - 2x2GB Mushkin Redline PC-8000 - EVGA GTX 260 - Samsung 226BW
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2008, 01:01 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,943

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Don't bother asking this question as you'll never get a precise answer from anyone and will always have a heated debate.

Myself I don't see any reason to run Vista as it doesn't give you any benefit over Windows XP despite what others will say and no if you only have 4gb of ram you don't need a 64bit OS a 32bit OS will work just fine.

IMHO Superfetch and DX10 is a marketing gimmick and if your computer is fast enough whether you have superfetch or not things will load fast.
It's okay enaberif, we all know how much you dislike Vista (or at least the regulars on here do).

Though why use a 32bit OS and loose about 512MB (or more) of RAM? Seems wasteful to me.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2008, 01:15 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
It's okay enaberif, we all know how much you dislike Vista (or at least the regulars on here do).

Though why use a 32bit OS and loose about 512MB (or more) of RAM? Seems wasteful to me.
Because your not going to notice that loss; simple.

90% of applications are written in 32bit code anyways so even if you DO run a 64bit OS those programs are still native 32bit programs that will never be able to use more than the allocated 2.5gb of ram given.

So why bother with 64bit if you only have 4gb of ram? You don't.

Now if you have 6, 8, 12 perhaps or even a video card with large memory demands (tho this hasn't been 100% proven) ok.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2008, 03:28 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,732

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif
90% of applications are written in 32bit code anyways so even if you DO run a 64bit OS those programs are still native 32bit programs that will never be able to use more than the allocated 2.5gb of ram given.
Unless of course you are running multiple applications that each gobble RAM thatis.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2008, 03:31 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,522

My System Specs

Default

If you are buying an OS, then I would get Vista. If you already have a legit copy of XP then there is no need to get Vista.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2008, 03:33 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacJunky View Post
Unless of course you are running multiple applications that each gobble RAM thatis.
Yes of course but it still will only eat up to 2.5gb of ram and can't go any higher :P

And if people are running that memory hungry of applications then yes by all means go 64bit but at this point in time VERY few apps do that.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2008, 03:48 PM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 971
Default

Actually I believe you need Nero 8 for Vista. I know that 7.5.1.1 will not install on Vista but I'm not sure of when it became compatible, so 7.6 may work or not.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2008, 03:52 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nodscene View Post
Actually I believe you need Nero 8 for Vista. I know that 7.5.1.1 will not install on Vista but I'm not sure of when it became compatible, so 7.6 may work or not.
Nero is garbage. So many alternatives out there that do much better and aren't as bloated.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2008, 03:57 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,728

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Nero is garbage. So many alternatives out there that do much better and aren't as bloated.
I actually use Nero, but it's mostly due to the fact it was free with a burner, and it will burn to my lightscribe disks. I've yet to find a freeware / opensource app that will do any more than basic text on a lightscribe disk.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista 32bit or 64bit for gaming cndian O/S's, Drivers & General Software 54 December 10, 2008 06:47 PM
x-fi elite pro and vista 32bit, anyone using? Ukonjack Audio 2 January 11, 2008 10:40 AM
32bit Vs 64bit XP enzeo O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 September 28, 2007 02:53 PM
Vista 32bit RAM limitations Babrbarossa RAM 22 July 16, 2007 07:31 AM
Vista 64bit vs. XP 32bit 4GB RAM bench comparo Eldonko O/S's, Drivers & General Software 13 May 14, 2007 02:09 PM